Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

home.live.com doesn’t thrill me at all!!!

with 4 comments

Is anyone else a little uninspired by http://home.live.com?
Sure, its a nice interface, I was quite impressed when I first saw it. But as I start using it it just seems that there isn’t THAT much of substance on it.

  • The ‘Messenger’ section doesn’t actually tell me anything, its just some dumb text. I thought it might actually show me something useful, like which of my contacts is logged on.
  • Same with Contacts. It doesn’t actually tell me anything.
  • There are two links to hotmail, two to start a IM conversation, and two to view contacts, all within a space of screen real estate about 5"*2". Actually the hotmail and contacts links all take you to hotmail so that’s actually FOUR links to the same place.
  • In the ‘More Services’ section the same problem exists. Two links to Onecare, two to skydrive, two to Gallery.
  • ‘Windows Live Desktop’ link doesn’t take me anywhere interesting at all. (I’m guessing it will pretty soon.)
  • Lest I forget there are MORE links to the same things up next to the search box
  • Where’s the search spyglass gone? (I know I’m not the first to lament its disappearance – I dare say there’s a good reason for it)
  • On my widescreen monitor there’s an AWFUL lot of wasted screen real estate.
  • As I write there’s a "spinny" in the ‘Inbox’ section. Its been there for a few minutes now. What’s the problem? Why can’t it display my emails?
  • The ‘Calendar’ link from the Windows orb doesn’t take me into my calendar
  • The whole page doesn’t actually give me that much that isn’t accessible from ‘the orb’
  • Where is my "home" page now? Is it http://home.live.com,
    http://www.live.com or http://jamiethomson.home.services.spaces.live.com.

I’m heading back to http://www.live.com as my home page. The interface might be
less aestheticly pleasing but at least there’s something useful on it.
What say you?

-Jamie 

 

home_live_com_page

Written by Jamiet

August 15, 2007 at 1:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree. home.live.com seems to be just one of those extra sites.
     
     I was expecting more of a one-stop experience than this. The only thing they did right was make it look kinda nice, and give you access to your inbox.
     
    I would want to see only the Windows Live services that I actually do use. I don’t use OneCare or SkyDrive. So they’re utterly useless to me. I am a QnA user, and I kind of would expect something useful like that to be displayed in my area. I want a one-stop Windows Live site to check on that status of the many Windows Live services that I use. Not a bunch of pushed stuff.

    Michael

    August 15, 2007 at 11:41 pm

  2. home.live.com

    souliluk

    November 1, 2009 at 5:54 pm

  3. souliluk

    November 1, 2009 at 5:55 pm

  4. startelecom

    souliluk

    November 1, 2009 at 5:56 pm


Leave a Reply

