Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

What would you put in a Skydrive API?

with 5 comments

Angus Logan asks "What APIs would you want to see for SkyDrive?"

Good question. This might take a bit of thinking about and frankly I’m not the guy that’s going to do it. Is "You should be able to do everything with the API that you can at http://skydrive.live.com" a good enough answer for you Angus?

When you consider what an API should offer you really have to think about it from the point of view of the user. There are two types of user that a SkyDrive API is going to have to support in the future, home users and business users. I fully expect that one day there will be a SkyDrive offering coupled with Office Live. People (both internal and external to Microsoft) are going to want to leverage SkyDrive for their own purposes and that is why an API is vital. In the future I’m going to want to be able to:

  • Store documents created in Microsoft Word/Excel/Powerpoint etc… direct to my SkyDrive. This becomes even more important if Microsoft come out with a purely online version of Office (which I think they will) because with that, where else are you going to store your documents to?
  • Store documents created in other online software (such as Google Docs and Spreadsheets) in my SkyDrive
  • Store documents created on my Mac straight to my SkyDrive
  • Embed SkyDrive viewers into social networking sites and other websites
  • Access SkyDrive from rich clients on a mobile phone
  • Synchronise traditional hard drive storage with SkyDrive. This includes the hard drive on my smartphone by the way.
  • Play media stored on my SkyDrive in the media players I have on my PC
  • Sync my Zune directly with media store in SkyDrive

I would hope that all of the above would be made possible through the use of an API

Incidentally, yesterday Scott let me have a play with his SkyDriveViewer that Angus talks about (I managed to find a couple of bugs 🙂 ). Quite impressive stuff in lieu of an API but of course screen-scraping can only go so far. An API needs to be introduced for this ASAP.

-Jamie

UPDATE, 30th June 2008: You should read this blog entry in conjunction with my update: SkyDrive API revisited!

Written by Jamiet

August 20, 2007 at 1:03 am

Posted in SkyDrive

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a .NET developer and I can think of many cool scenarios that can leverage SkyDrive (esp. in terms of hybrid desktop/online apps, hello Ray Ozzie’s software-AND-a-service vision)  if a robust API was available so I really hope the SkyDrive releases one soon.

    Adham

    August 27, 2007 at 11:58 pm

  2. I develop for a hobby, and have windows home server, i would love to beable to write a plugin to backup whs to skydrive. That would be cool

    Richard

    December 21, 2007 at 1:00 pm

  3. I would like SkyDrive act as my windows drive in My Computer. Also it would be good but not necessary to assign a letter to it

    Oleksandr

    March 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  4. I agree with adhaM. I am also a .NET developer and I can see many uses for this. I would like to see one of two things. I woul like it to look like a drive like Oleksandr stated or have a sync tool like Groove. It is also very important to support 64 bit!

    Bobby

    June 30, 2008 at 1:48 pm

  5. Couldn’t you just do an API with four basic functions:
    * Browse folders
    * Edit folders
    * Upload files
    * Download files
    Then all the other functions could be built by other software vendors.

    Lasse

    August 23, 2008 at 1:32 pm


Leave a Reply

