Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Uh-oh…Live Search for mobile isn’t all its cracked up to be!

with 7 comments

I’ve waxed lyrical on here before about the quality of Live Search for Mobile but I’m on the verge of taking it all back. Check out this video of me trying to use it.

I’ve rebooted, reinstalled. And this happens every single time.

Hmm…maybe I should head for Google Maps instead!!!

-Jamie

P.S. If you’re reading this in a news reader and the video isn’t displaying above head here instead: http://jamiethomson.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!550F681DAD532637!2404.entry or go and watch it on MSN Video: http://video.msn.com/video.aspx?vid=8a7c99d7-bd0f-4977-9b20-3c7ce342d784

Written by Jamiet

November 10, 2007 at 2:56 am

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe it’s the phone you use itself? Software problems are just as related to hardware problems as well. So maybe it’s the phone device?
     
    Or it could have to do with the network and the connection you have. The connection looks ok, but I’m not sure what network this is.
     
    Or it really could have to do with Live Search for Mobile. But I heard lots of good stuff about it, so maybe it really is my first 2 suggestions. Good luck trying to solve it.

    Michael

    November 10, 2007 at 6:22 am

  2. Jamie, it doesn’t look like you are using the latest version of Live Search for Windows Mobile.  I noticed the main dialog doesnt have the latest search options (e.g., Movie times, Gas prices, etc.).  The latest version also has speach recognition so you don’t even need to type.  The latest is available at wls.live.com (visit that url from your Mobile phone).
    Cheers,
    Michael

    MFP2.old

    November 10, 2007 at 7:11 pm

  3. Michael,
    I DO have the latest version.The reason those options are not showing is that its set to ‘UK’ not ‘USA’. Those options aren’t available outside the US.
     
    I know I have the latest version because like  said above I’ve reinstalled it.
     
    cheers
    Jamie
     

    Jamie

    November 10, 2007 at 7:18 pm

  4. Eager to hear your feedback after you’ve downloaded and tried the latest version.  The one you tried above is really out-of-date and is probably no longer supported.

    Neal

    November 12, 2007 at 12:26 am

  5. Hi Kevin,
    This IS the latest version. Lke I said above and below, I reinstalled so there’s no way I COULDN’T have the latest version.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    November 12, 2007 at 3:38 am

  6. Jamie – not sure what is going on with your install etc… – I just installed the new version of Live Search for Mobile last night and tried it out.  It is amazing!  The new voice recognition software is especially cool.  The ability to speak and have it map what you want just seems to make sense (it is a phone after all).  For me it worked pretty well too.

    Bryan

    December 3, 2007 at 9:18 pm

  7. Hi Bryan,
    Yeah, it USED to work well for me. Its just lately that it has stopped working.
     
    I’ve been in touch the product team about it and they’re looking into it.
     
    -Jamie
     

    Jamie

    December 4, 2007 at 12:48 am


Leave a Reply

