Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

More Windows Live Calendar ideas

with 2 comments

Yesterday I posted a blog entry talking about some things I liked and didn’t like about Windows Live Calendar beta. Since then I’ve been playing with it some more and have come up with a list of other nice-to-haves that I’d like to see in Live Calendar.

I have submitted each of these ideas as suggestions to the Windows Live beta program on Microsoft Connect. If you are a member of that program then you can click on the link after each submission below and hence you will be able to track Microsoft’s reply to these things, vote on my ideas, and comment on them as well.

Here they are:

  1. I’d like to be able to search for events on public calendars that match some search criteria. For example, show me all music gigs or all events in my local town. Or (even better) all music gigs in my local town. Even better still would be an RSS feed of all these events so that I know when new ones get added. (Connect submission)
  2. Live Calendar enables us to subscribe to other Live calendars (such as this one or this one). However, you can’t subscribe to webcal calendars such as this one on iCalShare. Sure you can import, but that’s not the same as subscribing. Subscribing means that you know when the original calendar gets changed, that doesn’t happen if you import it. (Connect submission)
  3. There is no searchable directory of shared Live Calendars. I would like there to be one. This would be similar to http://collections.live.com which is a directory of collections created on Live Maps. (Connect submission)
  4. There is no client app that allows you to synchronise with your Live Calendar(s) and thus look at them and add to them when offline. There should be one and it should be integrated into Windows Live Mail. (Connect submission)
  5. I’d like to see a Live.com/Live Spaces gadget that displays my Agenda from Live Calendar. (Connect submission)
  6. I’d like to see my Live Calendar(s) synchronised to my mobile phone. One day I’d like to see it synchronised to other places like my Zune. (Connect submission)
  7. If our friends have birthdays coming up then we can see them on our Live Spaces ‘What’s new’ page. I would like to have the option to display them on a Live Calendar as well. (Connect submission)
  8. I would like to see the Live Spaces ‘What’s new’ feed displayed as a Live Calendar that I could overlay on all my other calendars. (Connect submission)
  9. If I have photos on my Live Space that have date and time metadata attributed to them then I would like to see those overlaid as a Live Calendar so that I can see them against all my other calendars. Almost like creating a timeline of my life using my photos. (Connect submission)
  10. I’d like to see all my blog entries on my Live Space exposed as a Live Calendar so that I can see them over time and also see them against all my other calendars. (Connect submission)
  11. I would like to see statistics on how many people are using a calendar that I have created. (Connect submission)
  12. If someone adds one of my publicly shared calendars to their own collections of Calendars then I’d like to be told about it via my Live Spaces ‘What’s new’ page. (Connect submission)
  13. If one of my friends creates a calendar, show it on the What’s New feed on my Live Spaces home. (Connect submission)
  14. I would like my agenda to be displayed on http://home.live.com (Connect submission)

I have also submitted all of these ideas to http://feedback.live.com and hence you can see them all on my Feedback submissions listas list as well.

 

Let me know what you think!

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

November 12, 2007 at 5:27 am

Posted in Live Calendar

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for all the feedback!  Keep it coming :-)
     
    -Dave
    WLC Team

    David

    November 13, 2007 at 12:44 am

  2. All brilliant suggestions Jamie! I agree with all of them. Also we need a to-do and  a reminder feature in the calendar, and for the reminder feature I would also request a pop up on my desktop that does just that! And why can’t we edit the Live Calendar. You know people/users like myself would far rather use a calendar on our desktop and not up there in Hotmail etc. This is why a calendar is so useful when it is incorporated inside your e-mail program. This is where it should have been all along.

    technogran

    October 5, 2008 at 2:29 pm


Leave a Reply

