Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

New Zune software eats disk space

with 3 comments

A few minutes ago I took a glance at my Driveinfo Sidebar Gadget and this is what it was showing:

image

I got quite alarmed because as you can see my C: drive was running perilously close to being a pretty huge bottleneck and quite frankly I didn’t know why it was so full because I recently purged a lot of teh crap that lives on my system. I set about investigating and found that the <C:Users{username}AppDataLocalMicrosoftZuneTranscoded Files Cache> folder had 2297 *.tmp files in it taking up nearly 7GB of space. I haven’t a clue what they’re for and I’m assuming that I can get rid of them seeing as they are .tmp files, but I’m not going to until I can be sure I won’t break anything. If I find anything out I’ll update this post.

Has anyone else experienced this? Or does anyone know what all these files are for?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

November 19, 2007 at 12:33 am

Posted in Zune

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I deleted them outand it didn’t mess anything up for me. I had to clear out the database files for the player because it messed up my library.

    Patrick

    November 19, 2007 at 1:16 am

  2. Cheers Patrick. I guess Ill do the same then!
     

    Jamie

    November 19, 2007 at 1:25 am

  3. I think these are primarily video and pictures that the zune software compresses.  There’s no point in keeping a image that’s from a 5 Megapixel camera on a device that can only display 1/4 VGA.  Transcoding refers to re-encoding the video and pictures.

    Knox

    November 19, 2007 at 11:05 am


Leave a Reply

