Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

eBook standard?

leave a comment »

I was reading Mike Torres’ blog entry Amazon Kindle – a revolution? today where he stated “But until Amazon promises that the books I buy from them can be read on my PC, Mac, or a device like the iPhone or Sony Reader, I’m not sure it’s worth it to invest in the Kindle”.

He’s dead right. The thing that would make this happen is an open standard for eBooks, just like mp3 is an open standard for music. Does such a thing exist? I have no idea, but I’d love to know (let me know if you have any info). If a standard does not exist then it should do and I’m not jumping on this bandwagon until it does.

Kudos to Amazon for what they’ve brought out today though!

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

November 20, 2007 at 2:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

