Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

InsideMessenger grows up

leave a comment »

My last blog entry (I believe that Agents are our future…) talked about my hopes for IM bots eventually infiltrating our lives…all for our benefit of course. Since then I’ve been exploring bots a little bit more and was delighted to find that the Inside Messenger bot (chat@insidemessenger.com) has had a new release. There are some great capabilities within Inside Messenger now but the one that really caught my eye was the ability to view videos from Youtube, MSN Video, Reuters, and Google Video. The beauty of this feature is that you can search for and view videos from right within your conversation window – it doesn’t launch you into a web page. Here’s a screen shot from a search I did for "Zune":

image

I love this. Interacting with a search engine that actually replies to you in natural language is far preferable (to me) than a monotonous web page.

 

There’s some other nice features too. You can play games…

image

 

…do Amazon searches

image

 

and view Google calendars. I don’t have a screen shot of that cos I don’t have a  Google Calendar. I’m reliably informed that support for Windows Live Calendar will come just as soon as an API is released for it.

 

So what are you waiting for? Go and add chat@insidemessenger.com to your Messenger contacts and check out what’s on offer.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

December 10, 2007 at 10:41 am

Posted in Live Messenger

Leave a Reply

