Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

More Windows Live Groups information trickles out…

with 2 comments

According to wikipedia

That’s interesting, although it raises more questions than it answers.

  • Does that mean that every group that I have defined in my contacts will automatically become a Live Group?
  • If so, what will the URL of that group be? http://groups.live.com/group-name? http://group-name.groups.live.com?
  • Will each of my contacts that inadvertently become a member of a Live Group be aware of it and will they be able to access that Live Group and interact with other people in it?
  • If I have a group within my contacts that has the same name as someone else, will they all be in the same Live Group? For example, I have all my work colleagues grouped together in a group called "Conchango" (i.e. the name of my company). Assuming some of my colleagues do the same, will all those people appear in one uber-Live Group at http://conchango.groups.live.com or will there be something like http://conchango.jamiet.groups.live.com that only I can access?
  • If I join an existing Live Group will all members of that group automatically become available to me via my contacts? How will duplicates be handled?
  • Will Live Groups be integrated into http://contacts.live.com? If so, will http://contacts.live.com have a dedicated page rather than just redirecting to Hotmail?

I see a lot of value in integrating Live Groups with existing contact groups because it puts the world’s most widely used IM client (Live Messenger) front and center of Live Groups. That makes complete sense to me, especially that Live Messenger is now a lot more than just an IM client. I have been thinking about Live Groups a lot lately and have also been pondering what the answers might be to the following:

  • Will Live Groups appear as a navigation option on the Windows Live Header bar?
  • Assuming Live Groups is built atop Live Spaces just like Live Events was (I’m pretty sure that it will be), will we be able to add gadgets from the Live Gallery onto a Live Group page?
  • Will I be able to define groups of groups?
  • Will I be able to associate a Live Calendar with a Live Group? I think there will be a big requirement for this. For example, if I want to run a Live Group for my local rowing club I’d like to associate that with a calendar that lists all the local rowing meetings.
  • Will there be a page that will allow me to instantly see all the groups of which I am a member?

 

All these questions will get answered when they finally get around to releasing it which was supposed to be in November.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

December 12, 2007 at 11:00 am

Posted in Live Groups

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well it is off of Wikipedia, so it’s not exactly the truest thing to believe off of.
     
    But of course, it does raise interesting possibilities.

    Michael

    December 14, 2007 at 12:54 am

  2. All these questions will get answered when they finally get around to releasing it which was supposed to be in November.

    Osama

    December 22, 2009 at 11:24 am


Leave a Reply

