Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Do you like your comments in reverse chronological order?

with 4 comments

Comments to blog entries in Windows Live Spaces appear with the most recent comment at the top. Its the same on the comment feed on the Spaces personal home page.

Quikboy Michael has left a comment on my blog saying

I hate how comments in Live Spaces have the most recent comment on the top. Live Spaces is the only site that does that, and it’s dumb. Maybe they’ll fix that

Sorry Michael but I have a different point of view on this one, I actually really like the fact that comments appear in reverse chronological order. When I revisit a blog entry I want to see the comments that are most pertinent and as far as I’m concerned that’s the most recent ones. Perhaps we should have the option to pick which order we would like?

One change I WOULD like to see regarding Spaces comments is to see them threaded so that I can reply specifically to someone else’s comment and so that they appear like a discussion forum.

What say you?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

December 16, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Posted in Live Spaces

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would contend that reading top to bottom makes more sense. Not all languages (but most) have the reader reading from left to right, top to bottom. As a reader, it’s almost counter-intuitive to scroll to the bottom of a page only to scroll back up as I read the comments.  At the very least an option should be made available, and as a reader there should be a clearer distinction in what direction the comments.

    Amit

    December 16, 2007 at 11:32 pm

  2. I agree with Quikboy.
     
    I think it’s more better to put the first comment at the top, and then the recent at the bottom.
     
    Many sites do this, AND doing so this way, makes it more easier to put a reply to a comment right under it (which Live Spaces also doesn’t do!). I usually like to read from top to bottom, and sometimes the old comments are rather relevant, all the way to the latest one. Chronological order seems the best to me, since that’s the system most sites use.
     
    I guess that option would be nice, for the people who do like it, but they’d also should put an "Oldest-Recent" or "Recent-Oldest" along the top of the comments section to make sure readers know that. Or just make it more simple, and use what most sites use. That’s my .02.

    Sammy

    December 17, 2007 at 2:42 am

  3. I like the idea of most recent at the top, but since everywhere else does it the other way I think following convention is generally better – and I am on the fence on whether or not configurable is a good thing – having some things standard across a website (even one like Spaces which is like everyone having their own site) can be a good thing – I think having comments threaded would be a great thing!

    Bryan

    December 17, 2007 at 11:22 pm

  4. I prefer it with most recent first. Spaces actually tried it the other way round once, and they put it back to newest first due to public demand.
     
    SL

    Scott

    December 20, 2007 at 3:19 pm


Leave a Reply

