Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Do you understand Live ID? Does your mum?

with 2 comments

Here’s a little Windows Live anecdote. I had a revealing conversation today with someone who sits next to me at work. She asked if I knew a way that she could easily transfer a file to her home because it was too big to be sent by email. I knew that she had a hotmail address so I pointed her at http://skydrive.live.com. She went to skydrive, signed-in, and within 30 seconds she had her file uploaded and ready for her to collect from home later. Great experience, great convenience…she was really pleased.
 
A short while later she said that she wanted to transfer the same file to her sister but still make sure that no-one else could get it so I replied "No problem, if she has an email address then you can give her permission to get the file" (standard skydrive functionality, right?)
 
My colleague then replied that wouldn’t work because her sister had an email address but it wasn’t a hotmail email address. She didn’t understand that you can sign up for a Live ID with ANY email address, it doesn’t have to be one issued by Microsoft.
 
This was quite revealing to me. I would class my colleague as a savvy computer user but the news that a Live ID could be set up for any email address was a revelation to her. She simply didn’t know about it.
 
Clearly the Windows Live team need to do a better job of selling the fact that ANYONE can sign-up for a Live ID. Assuming that there’s a lot of people out there that have the same supposition as my colleague there’s a massive group of people that Windows Live isn’t reaching and they need to do something about that.
 
-Jamie
 
P.S. She’ll be shocked when I tell her that I don’t have a Microsoft issued email address and yet I still use Hotmail. Smile
Written by Jamiet

January 17, 2008 at 9:48 pm

Posted in Windows Live

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Really? Are you sure? I tried to see if that worked, and when I went to the sign-up page, I had to choose between @live.com or @hotmail.com. That doesn’t sound like ANY e-mail account to me.
     
    How do you do that? I guess Microsoft really isn’t clear about the whole thing.

    Michael

    January 18, 2008 at 4:51 am


Leave a Reply

