Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Another Zune idea – IM from Zune Social

with 3 comments

The idea I posted yesterday regarding subscribing to podcasts via Zune Social got a bite so I’m posting another one to see if I can get some visibility of it. I originally put it on the Zune Social forums but as usual I haven’t got much feedback there.
 

Zune Social is cool in that you can see who likes the same music as you and meet them etc… but any conversation that you have is via messages that you leave in their inbox.

Hence, I’d love the ability to IM people from within Zune Social. The newly released Messenger Presence API and Messenger IM Control (http://dev.live.com/messenger/) could easily provide this ability. So my request is that [Zune Social] gives us the ability to see if people are online and IM them from Zune Social (to all the privacy advocates out there…don’t worry…the Presence API puts you in charge of who can IM you.)

Moreover, I’d like the ability to add people to my list of contacts. If they automatically appeared in a contact group called (e.g.) "Zune Social" then so much the better.

Also, this functionality should be available from the Zune software as well.

 

Now that there’s so many Windows Live properties out there, and the APIs are coming thick and fast, THIS is the new battleground. How can other services (both Microsoft and none-Microsoft) leverage these services for the greater good. Expect to see me publish a lot more ideas like these over the coming months.

Thoughts?

cheers

Jamie

 
Written by Jamiet

January 18, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Posted in Zune

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you mean IM directly from the Zune Social site? Like IMing on the site itself?
     
    Why not just take it to the next (simpler) level and IM directly from WLM, the main IM client? IMing on a website doesn’t give you quite the full experience of IMing from an IM client.
     
    And yes, I would love to attach the Messenger Presence icon with my username anywhere I go. I’m the kind of person that doesn’t mind if a random person wants to IM me. I just want that option. But to IM from WLM than some crappy web page styled IMing.

    Michael

    January 19, 2008 at 12:42 am

  2. Jamie, I just reviewed the Live IM control information and installed the HTML for a button on one of my test pages.It’s pretty cool. Thanks for mentioning it. I just hope the bad guys don’t find a way to abuse it. I like the ability to receive anonymous chat. I’m not sure everyone in the world wants a Live account, although I’m liking mine better and better all the time.As an aside, I haven’t seen your parts of the British Isles, but I have a love affair with Rye, England. Brien

    Brien

    January 21, 2008 at 5:20 pm

  3. Hey Brien,
    Thanks for the comment. Great to hear you’re learning more about what you can do with your Live ID, as you can probably tell I’m on a mission to educate what can be done with it. That’s because I think Windows Live is immensely cool.
     
    Just FYI (and for anyone else reading this), it isn’t necassarily anonymous, the person who is contacting you DOES have the option to identify themselves (I think).
     
    I agree there’s always a worry that it could be used for SPAM, but it does have a catchpa to try and prevent that. That won’t stop anyone who idly wants to annoy you anonomously and is suitably amused enough to do so … but its a start.
     
    Michael,
    "Why not just take it to the next (simpler) level and IM directly from WLM, the main IM client?"
    Of course, that would be the preferred option. This is a solution that doesn’t rely on installed sftware (other than a web browser) so it is closer to being ubiquitous. I think your suggestion could be better rephrased as "Can the IM control be changed so that it uses WL Messenger if it is installed?"
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    January 21, 2008 at 6:54 pm


Leave a Reply

