Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Throwing some more Zune ideas out there

with 7 comments

I posted a few ideas on Zune Social earlier today about how they could better leverage the Windows Live ID which is used to login to their site. I thought I’d publish them here as well….just for the hell of it.
 
  1. Show all my Zune friends in a dedicated contact group e.g. "My Zune friends" within my Live Contacts (http://contacts.live.com).
  2. Allow me to invite Zune Social members to be Live Messenger contacts. 
  3. Allow me to invite my Zune friends to be Live Spaces friends and vice versa.
  4. On Zune Social, display whether I am online or not (http://jamiethomson.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!550F681DAD532637!3203.entry) and thus build instant messaging into Zune Social
  5. Have some sort of chat room in Zune Social that I can interact with using Live Messenger.
  6. Show my most recently listened to song on my Live Messenger status
  7. Show where in the world my Zune friends live on a Virtual Earth map
  8. Use Live Alerts to tell me when someone has replied to one of my forum postings
  9. Put a Zune tab into Live Messenger which displays mine and my friends’ Zune Tags. Or, let me right-click on a contact in Live Messenger and let me see their Zune Tag.
  10. Synchronise photos from Live Spaces onto my Zune
  11. Synchronise videos from MSN Soapbox onto my Zune
  12. Build a Windows Live Toolbar button that takes me to Zune Social
  13. Let us form communities (after Windows Live Groups comes out) around artists that we like. Surface these communities in Zune Social. Perhaps even automatically place me into groups based on what I listen to.
  14. Display pertinent Zune info on my Live Spaces news feed (e.g. A friend has added a new favorite on Zune Social, A particular band has gone to the top of a friend’s ‘most listened to’ list, someone else likes the same music as me, Someone has sent me a message on Zune Social etc…)
  15. Let me view messages in my Zune Social inbox from within Windows Live Mail 
  16. Put a "blog this" link in various places in Zune Social that then launches me into a new blog entry in Live Spaces.
  17. I could have a category on my Live Spaces blog called "Zune". And blogs in that category automatically appear in my Zune profile (http://social.zune.net/member/jamiethomson)

Got any more ideas? Anyone? Anyone?

-Jamie

 

Written by Jamiet

February 13, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Posted in Zune

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like your ideas! :)

    Lucas Perin

    February 19, 2008 at 8:44 pm

  2. Hey, thanks Lucas.

    Jamie

    February 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm

  3. i just had that same idea about making a zune messenger or a add-on for windows live.I was chatting in my Zune message replys then after a few of them it said your daily limit is up come back 2mrow!Made me so mad.

    melissa

    June 29, 2008 at 4:53 am

  4. Hey Melissa,
    I’ve never heard about having a limit on number of replies. Bizarre. I wonder why that’s in place?
     
    Anyway, yeah, they definitely need a Messenger portion of Zune Social!
     
    Thanks for the comment!
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    June 29, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  5. I just found this post when I googled "zune suggestions," hopefully you still get these comments even though it’s almost a year-old post. I have a few suggestions…I think some good additions would be a "Find Video Info" for videos, instead of having to copy and paste text from imdb…I’m a movie buff and rip a lot of my movies to put on the Zune, but it gets pretty annoying to look up each movie individually on the internet on different sites and whatnot. Also, it would be amazing to have an eBook reader…while I was in college all of our texts came with a digital copy on disc, and it would’ve been awesome to read those on the bus or something on the way to class. Do you know where these suggestions can be given? I haven’t found a website yet.

    Andrew

    January 6, 2009 at 6:15 pm

  6. and oh yeah, the ability to add movies to a series…it only supports a TV series, but there are quite a few movie trilogies, sequels, etc. that would make video organization a little more…organized? Like the Dirty Harry series, Star Wars, and the James Bond collection.

    Andrew

    January 6, 2009 at 8:02 pm

  7. Nevermind, I found the site to submit feedback. In case you didn’t know, it’s https://support.microsoft.com/contactus/emailcontact.aspx?scid=sw;en;1398&WS=zune&SD=zune

    Andrew

    January 6, 2009 at 8:11 pm


Leave a Reply

