Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Spherical surface

leave a comment »

Mary-Jo Foley asks today
I’m having trouble getting my head around why anyone would want a spherical multitouch device, either. Sure, it might look cool… but who would use it and why?
The answer seems pretty obvious to me. A touchable globe that plots what I’m touching would seem like a fairly useful application of this technology. How about a "live weather globe" that shows me the current weather anywhere in the world?
 
I suspect there are some boffins beavering way right now trying to get Virtual Earth projected onto this thing. That would at least mean that I wouldn’t have to buy a new globe whenever country borders change (as they were wont to do during the 90s).
 
Thoughts?
 
-Jamie
 
 
 
Written by Jamiet

March 5, 2008 at 5:46 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

