Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

IE8 Activities in Live Messenger

with 2 comments

Did you catch the MIX08 keynote today? I did and I gotta tell you, I was pretty impressed by a lot of things. Not least IE8 which up to now I’d been completely dismissive of, it didn’t interest me in the slightest. Until they showed Activities and Web Slices that is. I thought Activities in particular were a great idea and figured I would love to see the same functionality in Live Messenger. Hence, I submitted the following to http://feedback.live.com:
I have just watched the Mix08 opening keynote where IE8 was being demonstrated. This included a new feature – Activities. The first thing I thought was “This would be great inside Live Messenger”.
Simple scenario: someone I’m chatting with sends me an address. Wouldn’t it be great if I could select that address and up pops a Virtual Earth map showing that address?
The great thing about Activities is that Microsoft are trying to introduce them as a standard hence any Activity that works on IE8 would (in theory) work on Messenger as well.
[which I’ve added to my feedback lista as well]
What do you think? Would you like to see Activities in live Messenger? let me know in the comments.
-Jamie
P.S. If you want to understand exactly what Activities and Web Slices are then take a look at this video on Activities:
and this one on web slices:
Written by Jamiet

March 6, 2008 at 2:43 am

Posted in Live Messenger

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thoughts for Jamie and commentator Michael,
     
    Jamie, thanks for the heads up. The videos on activities and slices were helpful and I’m glad I didn’t have to search them out. Not enough hours in a day to keep up.
     
    Regarding Michael’s comment that Live Toolbar already provides activities, I didn’t know. But on the other hand, I’m not a great fan of adding toolbars. I like a lot of real estate for the site I’m viewing. If having these integrated into IE8 can be done without taking up more of the menu/toolbar area, that’s wonderful.

    Brien

    March 10, 2008 at 5:42 pm


Leave a Reply

