Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

I don’t prefer Windows Live Spaces to Facebook

with 5 comments

Brandon LeBlanc just posted a blog entry entitled I prefer Windows Live Spaces to Facebook. Well Brandon, I can’t agree I’m afraid. When compared as pure social-networking offerings Facebook wins hands down for 2 main reasons:

  1. I am associated with MUCH more of my "real-life" friends on Facebook than I am on Live Spaces
  2. Facebook is feature rich compared to Live Spaces. e.g. Live Spaces’ newsfeed (currently) contains only 6 different types of information, Facebook’s contains much more than that.

I should post a disclaimer at this point. On an earlier post of Brandon’s I left a comment saying "I couldn’t give a toss that none of my friends are on [Live Spaces] cos I don’t want to waste my time on "social networking". I don’t do Facebook for the same reason." I have to admit that’s no longer true – of late I have gotten the bug and have been drawn inexorably into regularly visiting Facebook.

So, you may ask, why do I use Live Spaces so much? Well the answer is pretty simple, and its something I alluded to in the first line of this blog entry. Facebook is a social-networking platform and in my opinion its the best one there is … but that is ALL it is. My Windows Live ID (which gets me into Live Spaces) gives me access to a plethora of things that you don’t get with Facebook such as:

In summary the reason I align myself with Windows Live is simply because it provides access to so much more services than any other online ID. There aren’t many of the Windows Live services that could be considered best-of-breed but collectively they form the best integrated overall offering out there. People who read my blog regularly are probably sick of me saying that but its true so I’m going to keep saying it.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

March 17, 2008 at 3:41 am

Posted in Live Spaces

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lol..I dumped Facebook for the exact same reasons you love it.
     
    There were too many people that knew me in ‘real-time’ & could pick me up just because of the content. For instance..I taught & my students were Facebook obsessed. I couldn’t run an open page & avoid the inevitable student generated crap associated with it.
     
    Live is better for me. After nearly 4 years…I’ve only ever been bumped by one student & I had to give her the address.
     
    It just a personal preference but I also found the look of the Facebook page ‘messy’ & too full of trivial visual crap. For me it was not really the place for serious discussion. I got fed up of spending my days being bumped by people wanting to know my ‘stripper’ name or to play online tennis.
     
    But each to their own. If you find something you like & works for you then why change? :)
     
    You be safe. Nice post
     
    Fluff
     
     
     

    Yada

    March 17, 2008 at 12:06 pm

  2. I like both – but they’re practically both different sites.
     
    Facebook is known as a social network. Live Spaces is more of your own personal site to share info.
     
    Facebook has actual networks, groups, and interaction with friends. Live Spaces doesn’t.
     
    Live Spaces has a blogging feature. Facebook doesn’t.
     
    Facebook is open up to any e-mail account. Live Spaces stays restricted with Live ID. We can go on and on about how different these two sites kind of are. The only similarity is that there’s a way to view your friend’s page, add friends, and that’s about it.
     
    People will use Live Spaces more if there was more compelling reasons to. There isn’t, thus not many users are going to switch to Live Spaces. Especially the fact that it’s not a true social networking site. That’s all there is.
     
    I just utilize Live Spaces for blogging and maybe sharing photos, and Facebook for real social networking. That’s it.

    Michael

    March 17, 2008 at 4:29 pm

  3. actually facebook does a have journal/blog, so theres nothing on msn live that facebook doesnt have, however theres everything on facebook that windows live doesnt have. windows live is only good for posting offensive comments on peoples blogs for fun!

    Peter

    April 1, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  4. Whoever you are (you didn’t bother to show your face/name) I see that you didn’t bother to read my post fully either. Live gives you access to a lot that Facebook does not and I listed a few of them above.
     
    Strange that you would leave a comment on a blog entry that you have not read (or perhaps failed to understand) in its entirety.

    Jamie

    April 1, 2008 at 10:06 pm

  5. Nice post thanks for the read.

    Butter

    August 31, 2009 at 4:07 am


Leave a Reply

