Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Spaces: Groups or tags. But not both please.

leave a comment »

A little known feature of Live Spaces is the ability to tag your friends. Observe the defining of tags:

image

and the ability to view my friends by those tags:

image 

 

That would be fairly useful if the same functionality didn’t exist elsewhere, namely in my Live Contacts. Take a look at Messenger for example:

image

You can see that I have the ability to place my contacts into more than one group; I could also have chosen to demonstrate this by providing screenshots from Live Contacts or Live Mail because my contact groups are synchronised to those properties as well. Thus, there is a many-to-many relationship between my contacts and groups, exactly as there is between my Spaces friends and tags.

My Spaces friends are merely a subset of my Live Contacts so, to cut a long story short, tagging my friends and putting contacts into groups is exactly the same thing; the different nomenclature is irrelevant.

 

I don’t enjoy having to specify the same information in more than one place therefore I submitted the following to http://feedback.live.com:

Please remove the ability to tag my friends and replace it with existing contact groups functionality. Functionally there is no difference between tagging and grouping anyway, so please don’t stipulate that I have to define the same information in two places (which I do currently).

and I’d urge you to do the same. I also appended this to my feedback lista.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

April 1, 2008 at 12:53 pm

Posted in Live Spaces

Leave a Reply

