Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Live Maps: Extra

with 2 comments

After playing with the new Live Maps for a few days I’ve found a rather nice new feature regarding Birds Eye. When you switch from 2D viewing to Birds Eye there is a momentary pause during which a small rectangle zooms in on the area that will be shown by the Birds Eye photo. Check it out in this following 14 second video where I use Birds Eye view to take a look at Lords, the home of Cricket.

Pretty cool eh? Its small things like this that can sometimes make all the difference.

 

I’m also pretty impressed with the GeoRSS features where you can subscribe to an RSS feed of geo-tagged content in an area defined by what is displayed on Live Maps at the current time. Here is one such RSS feed:

http://maps.live.com/GeoCommunity.asjx?action=retrieverss&mkt=en-us&ss=&bbox=-0.1910871614377681,51.5183947514826,-0.14293614520241687,51.53817859555869&startindex=0&order=date

I’ve  highlighted the part of the URL that defines the rectangular area for which the feed should include content. What I think would be really cool would be, instead of defining a rectangle, I get to define a polygon for which content should be returned. That way I could draw a polygon defining my home town (Sunbury-on-Thames) like so:

image

and only see content for Sunbury-on-Thames. That would be very cool and hence led me to submit the following to Live Maps feedback:

The GeoRSS feature recently released allows me to define a rectangle for which to return content. Pretty useful stuff.

What I’d prefer is the ability to draw a polygon using the existing ‘Mark an area on the map feature’ and return content that appears in that polygon. Thus, I could subscribe to a feed that only returns content for my home town.

[Also added to my feedback lista.]

 

What else? Oh yeah, whilst drawing the shape that you see on the screenshot immediately above I noticed that you can now return to a previously created polygon and either move the points that define it, delete them, or create new ones. Check it out:

I’m not sure if that came with this release but I’ve never noticed it before so am going to assume that it did! Pretty cool anyway and very useful!

 

Have you spotted anything else that hasn’t been reported as yet?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

April 13, 2008 at 6:52 pm

Posted in Live Maps

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jamie this is very interesting and your a lifesaver! Why? Because you are obviously making use of Soapbox so , can you help me out? As you will have already realised I use Windows Live Writer to write my blogs and the insert video gives you a choice of using video from the web or from Soapbox, but try as I may I  couldn’t find this ‘Soapbox’ so how do you utilize it and where is it?  I tried live search everything!  So please can you help this old granny?
     
     

    Technogran

    April 13, 2008 at 7:20 pm

  2. I liked the zoom-in rectangle thing too.
     
    Oh and the node-drag function was there before the update. I also thought that was nifty. If only I could use that when wanting to change my route from the directions. Just drag and realign with the streets.
     
     

    Michael

    April 14, 2008 at 3:56 am


Leave a Reply

