Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Spaces Categories….can it get any worse?

with 4 comments

Five days ago I whined about Live Spaces’ very very poor support for blog tagging, preferring to implement blog categories instead. As is the norm I didn’t get any response to my submission on http://feedback.live.com requesting blog tagging be implemented so I figured I would go through all my existing posts and put them into categories instead. Big mistake.

I’ve been through and created 14 categories so far, you can see them here:

image

I wanted to create a new category called "RDF" for my blog entry FOAF from November 2007. Live Spaces wouldn’t let me do that though, oh no. The option to create a new category is grayed out.

image

I don’t actually know why but I’m guessing that I have reached my full quota of categories. Not only that but my category list contains a load of categories that were pre-populated but(and this makes me REALLY angry) I don’t have a way of getting rid of them:

image

 

So, let’s review. Live Spaces doesn’t support a basic feature of nearly every blogging engine on the planet so I have to use their wholly inferior feature instead. That feature contains limits that I’m not even told about. And I can’t remove the categories that were created for me and am not using.

Words fail me quite frankly and constructive criticism is not something I feel like providing right now. This is diabolical.

 

Is anyone reading from the Live Spaces team? I hope so because I’m sick of posting stuff to http://feedback.live.com and not getting a response.

Change this. Change it now.

 

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

April 14, 2008 at 4:41 pm

Posted in Live Spaces

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know how you feel. Categories is really old-fashioned. They should use tagging instead. I hated discovering the category limit. I wasn’t happy. But there’s a way to delete some:
     
    Go directly to your Space (the one everybody views) and go to "Options" at the top right. On the left pane, select "Blog Settings". On this page, categories is at the bottom and there’s options to delete categories.
     
    That’s it. I don’t like it, but that’s the way it is. I told Spaces feedback a long time ago to use tags and not categories. I guess they’re still thinking about it. I just don’t bother with categorizing anymore. I put no categories.

    Michael

    April 15, 2008 at 2:07 am

  2. You are mistaken. You can eliminate the default categories in Configuration->
    Configuration of blog ->Categories

    Marcelino

    April 16, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  3. Hi Marcelino,
    Unfortunately that only allows me to remove categories that I have created. I can’t get rtid of the pre-populated ones.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    April 17, 2008 at 1:45 am

  4. At last I found out how to get rid of unwanted categories! (I should really get a substitute site for live spaces..)Thank u everyone for the tip

    David

    September 21, 2009 at 12:44 am


Leave a Reply

