Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

What’s the secret forthcoming feature in Live Search for Mobile?

with 3 comments

In a recent blog entry Steve Lombardi from the Virtual Earth team spoke about Live Search for Mobile and said:

"the forthcoming release packs my favorite feature which I’m not allowed to tell you about just yet"

I’m a big Live Search Mobile user so I’m very intrigued about what this feature might be. I strongly suspect that it will be along the lines of sharing your location back up to the cloud either for the purposes of publishing your GPS location to your friends or for the purposes of using data from many people to derive useful information (a form of crowdsourcing). One oft spoke of use of this type of crowdsourced data would be in determining real-time traffic conditions. For example, if you know that a lot of people are travelling slowly along a particular road then you can be pretty sure that the traffic conditions on that road are in the red zone. This would make a very neat tie-in with the AI engine that is currently powering Live Maps’ Directions.

Personally though I hope that the feature he speaks of is that of being able to share your location with your friends (or groups of your friends). The lack of this feature in Live Search for Mobile has bothered me since well before I talked about it back in August 2007 in my blog entry Track my location please (and I’ve mentioned it many times since then). This feature would make Live Search for Mobile very compelling; at the moment the only people that I know of that are attempting to do something in this space are Mologogo although I downloaded their client and, whilst it works, there are too many foibles for me to use it permanently.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

May 11, 2008 at 8:31 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. have you checked the wls.live.com to see what might be there today?

    Kevin

    May 15, 2008 at 10:50 pm

  2. Yeah I have. Looks like I was way off beam, neither of those things are in it.
     
    I want to know what this feature is that Steve Lombardi was talking about though!
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    May 16, 2008 at 6:20 am

  3. There is a another service to help you locate your lost phone or gps phone… http://www.itag.com

    Lance

    August 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm


Leave a Reply

