Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

A Live Mesh idea – A personalised news service

with 5 comments

On my way to work this morning I was, as usual, sat on the train listening to podcasts that got synced to my Zune overnight. I looked around me and noticed that everyone else was either listening to their iPods or, in the case of the majority, reading a newspaper. That’s when I had a brainwave. Wouldn’t it be cool if I picked up my Zune every morning and it had all the latest local and international news stories synced to it ready for me to read or watch on the way in?

The days of dead-tree-based "newspapers" are numbered. If you want proof of that then consider that I walked into work yesterday and I was the only person there that knew about the earthquake in China that had happened about 30 minutes earlier. Why was that? It was because I was reading about it on Twitter before the news agencies even knew anything about it. Newspapers have it even worse – by the time you’re reading about something in a newspaper its already old news – the newspaper got printed hours ago. Up to the minute, free, news feeds are the future and my startling realisation this morning was that I already had a device that was capable of being that digital news reader. The only thing required to fill the gap now is software.

Live Mesh could fill that gap very nicely. Imagine a software application that collected news stories for me that it thinks I would be interested in (based on my interests and previous reading habits) while I’m busy at work or even as I sleep. Now imagine that those news stories are available to me on whichever device I happen to have in my hand next. That’s the promise of Mesh.

Traditional bricks-and-mortar media companies should be very scared indeed. If they aren’t already.

-Jamie

P.S. I originally published this idea on the Zune forums before I realised that, actually, this is more about Mesh than about Zune.

Written by Jamiet

May 13, 2008 at 7:00 pm

Posted in Live Mesh

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I actually think this is an excellent idea, and I don’t think that it’s too far fetched. Live Mesh is so early in development that it is very possible and I imagine it would work perfectly considering the Zune uses the same backend as Xbox Live. It would be similar to receiving messages on Live, only make them "syncable" on the Zune. Great idea never the less.

    Ryan

    May 14, 2008 at 12:58 am

  2. You can already do this type of thing – on a phone.
     
    Zune is a PMP gadget. Not a feed reader. And the Zune doesn’t even currently utilize it’s WiFi to receive information from the internet.

    Michael

    May 14, 2008 at 3:29 am

  3. Michael,
    You’ve completely missed the point. This blog entry was about what Mesh is going to bring us, not what Zune is going to bring us.
     
    Notwithstanding that, it has already been stated that a Mesh client will be arriving for the Zune so not only have you missed the point you’re also oblivious to the direction in which Zune is headed. And who said the wifi had to directly connect to the internet to enable this scenario? There’s no reason why syncing via Mesh shouldn’t happen via the Zune software.
     
    -Jamie
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    May 14, 2008 at 6:11 am

  4. I’d be happy with just peer to peer sync with my zune through mesh.  But I know that’s completely not what you’re talking about.

    Jordan

    May 15, 2008 at 3:07 pm

  5. What we need is for the feed aggregator to be in the cloud (ala Google Reader) and for the syncing of read etc.. (along with the sharing and starring concept which I love in Google Reader) – Live Mesh can certainly enable these scenarios (the syncing portion in particular) and so I am excited to see what comes out once MS takes the wraps off the developer platform part.

    Bryan

    May 16, 2008 at 10:46 pm


Leave a Reply

