Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Windows Live for Windows Mobile

with 2 comments

As Brandon LeBlanc noted a couple of days ago Windows Live for Windows Mobile is now available. In fact, its supposedly been available for a long time but sometime back in April I browsed to http://wl.windowsmobile.com and was told that the download site was down until 5th May. I went back on 5th May and was told it was down until 15th May. Still…at least its there now.

Before I installed I was worried about how the various features were going to manifest themselves. I already sync my mail and contacts from my company’s Exchange server and I was worried that my work and personal mail were going to get mixed in together. No such worries – WL for Windows Mobile creates a completely separate email account for your personal mail – good news.

As for contacts, well I was too scared to sync those. I’m pretty sure that contacts from both work and my personal life would get mixed in together so initially I chose to not sync contacts from my personal account. Thinking about it though mixing them in together could be advantageous – I quite like the idea of a single unified contacts store that incorporates my work contacts and my personal contacts. If anyone has any experiences to share in this area let me know.

Not all is rosy however. After installing WL for Windows Mobile for the first time and then shutting down I wasn’t able to get back into the phone so I had to do a hard reset (check manual for details) which meant that I lost all my data (ultimately not a problem because everything is synced elsewhere – but a minor annoyance) and all of my installed programs (again only an irritation because I can reinstall everything). I hoped it was an isolated problem but unfortunately not because when I came to reinstall it exactly the same thing happened. Grrrr… My phone is a Vodafone v1615 by the way, otherwise known as an HTC Kaiser, HTC TyTN II, AT&T Tilt and by various other names too.

I submitted a ticket to http://support.live.com about this and they were as useless as ever; the response basically being "Not our fault guv, get in touch with Vodafone!!!"  Ta very much!!!

Has anyone else out there experienced this problem with the kaiser?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

May 16, 2008 at 6:49 pm

Posted in Windows Live

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Jamie,I went to the link a few days ago and it was no longer.  I was told it was down and check back June 16th.  Now it appears the link is no longer available.  Any idea on where the link my be now?Thanks,Mike

    Michael

    June 28, 2008 at 4:27 am

  2. Hey Mike,
    Annoying isn’t it? Its happening a lot.
     
    I think they’re working on an update. Stay tuned I guess.
     
    -Jamie
     

    Jamie

    June 28, 2008 at 7:44 am


Leave a Reply

