Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

“Microsoft is the ONLY company that enables one to TAKE THEIR DATA with them”

leave a comment »

Those aren’t my words. They are the words of Marc Canter who wrote them in a recent blog entry. Most people reading this probably don’t know who Marc is but those who closely follow issues around social networks, data portability and such like will probably know Marc as a vociferously proponent of open standards, data portability and open source software. For someone of Marc’s stature to say that is quite a big deal. I suspect there’s some people in Redmond jumping up and and down in glee while reading that.

This is kinda the point that I made in my blog entry Set me free back in February when I said this:

Microsoft’s provision [of] a free and secure method of allowing anyone to get your contact data if you let them without divulging your username/password doesn’t strike me as being "anti-data-portability".

I know I’m rather biased in matters like these because I’ll hold my hands up and say I’m an unashamed Microsoft fan but its nice to see someone like Marc coming out and saying something positive about Microsoft’s efforts in this area. I’m looking forward to him publishing his Data Portability matrix.

-Jamie

 

Written by Jamiet

May 18, 2008 at 9:01 am

Posted in Windows Live

Leave a Reply

