Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

A sneak peek at Mesh

with 2 comments

For those of you that don’t have access to Mesh (and that give a crap), I thought you might appreciate a quick taster of one part of it. Here is a screenshot of my contact page, everyone on the Mesh has one.

image

I only actually discovered this myself for the first time just this morning and I’ve been using Mesh for a few weeks now so its definitely hidden away. There’s some interesting things to note here.

Firstly, the profile information that you see comes from my Live Spaces profile. Does that mean that everyone that uses Live Mesh is expected to go and fill in their information at Live Spaces? I hope not, that doesn’t seem like a good way of winning public opinion to me given that Live Spaces’ reputation aint exactly the greatest. Another question; if Microsoft allow us to login to Mesh using OpenID as I postulated on Tuesday (and the answer given to my question about OpenID in the Live Mesh forum doesn’t make me think that they won’t) where are they going to get the profile information from? Well the answer to that should be another burgeoning technology that I am passionate about, FOAF (go and read about it).

Aside from that there’s not too much to write home about here. Its got the now ubiquitous newsfeed, it aggregates a list of shared folders that you are a member of and well…that’s about it. Mesh is only as good as the applications that run on it though and right now there aren’t any other than file sync. There’s going to be a lot of value in the newsfeed once we are running applications on Mesh, I’m sure it won’t be long before I start seeing everything from my Twitter feed appear on here for example.

Keep coming back for future posts. I’ll have a lot more to say about Mesh.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

May 23, 2008 at 6:01 pm

Posted in Live Mesh

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I want the invitation =]

    Kit

    May 24, 2008 at 9:34 am

  2. Live Mesh looks nice. If only they applied that type of innovation around the other WinLive properties as well…

    Sammy

    June 1, 2008 at 8:01 am


Leave a Reply

