Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Internet through the mains

with 2 comments

Maybe I’m slow on the uptake but until today I didn’t know that it was possible to build a home network via your electricity sockets. I was browsing through PCWorld just this afternoon and happened upon Netgear’s Powerline range. I was skeptical by the claim on the box stating that one could "Turn electrical outlets into an Internet & Network connection" but I was suitably curious enough to drop the best part of 100notes on a XE103 85Mbps well-plugged ethernet bridgeand a XE104 wall-plugged switch

 

and my god … they just work. I’m sitting here with an ethernet cable running from my laptop to the mains socket happily browsing the internet. I’m amazed.

 

Is this news to anyone else or have I been living in a bubble?

 

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

May 26, 2008 at 8:18 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I use that for my boardband based STB around a year, but the speed is slower than expect…
     
    It deliver around 4Mbps port to port, the reason of the so slow rate is because don’t use it on wall plug and my home is pretty old.
     
    I bet it will go faster if I move =]
     
    Buy why you didn’t buy models with a wifi connection? better for laptops!

    Kit

    May 27, 2008 at 8:29 am


Leave a Reply

