Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Spaces: I want to know what my friends are commenting on

with 3 comments

Currently in Live Spaces the only way of knowing that one of my friends is actively using Live Spaces is if they:

  • Post some photos
  • Post files to Skydrive
  • Post a blog entry
  • Post or modify a list
  • Update their profile
  • Befriend someone

(info taken from Rob Dolin’s blog entry Windows Live Spaces home improvements: What’s New details, recent Photo comments, and more)

 

There is one crucial activity that I (and I’m sure many of my friends) partake in on Live Spaces and that is commenting on other people’s blogs. I would love to know what blog entries my friends are interested in and furthermore I would love for friends of my friends to be made aware of my blog and come and visit it – that would promote great viral growth for my blog. None of this happens today but it would if I was notified of my friends’ blog commenting activities via my Spaces newsfeed. For example, my friend Chris Webb invariably posts stuff that all the rest of my friends would never be aware of but perhaps they would be made aware of it if I were commenting and they were notified via their newsfeed.

 

Hence I’ve just posted the following to Spaces feedback:

Please tell me (via my Live Spaces newsfeed) when one of my friends has commented on someone else’s Spaces blog. I would love to know what my friends are up to and, moreover, I would love for people I don’t know to be made aware of my blog.

[I also added this to my feedback lista]

 

You can do the same so over to you. Would you like this feature in Spaces? If so let me know in the comments section below and then get over to http://feedback.live.com and ask for it. The more people that ask for it then the more likely we are to get it.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

June 1, 2008 at 10:12 am

Posted in Live Spaces

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Definitely an improvement that is needed. For it to be a bit more of a social networking site, it would be great to expand that to all areas such as commenting on pictures as well or maybe showing which are popular blog entries based of hits from all your friends or others.

    Karan

    June 1, 2008 at 4:27 pm

  2. You got it Karan. great ideas buddy.
     

    Jamie

    June 1, 2008 at 4:32 pm

  3. If this were made available, I would hope there’s an OPTION to NOT allow friends to discover your comments. I find some of my comments are more on the personal side, and wouldn’t like my friends poking around into what I do. It’s kinda weird.
     
    I wouldn’t like the whole world to know what I was doing all the time.

    Michael

    June 1, 2008 at 6:19 pm


Leave a Reply

