Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

A Twitter challenge to the Live Search team

with 2 comments

I am currently using an RSS feed from Live Search to automatically inform me when people are twittering about things I am interested in. For example, here’s a search for Live Mesh related tweets:
 
 mesh_live_search.JPG
 
and here is the RSS feed for it which I have subscribed to using Google Reader: http://search.live.com/results.aspx?q=live+mesh+site%3Ahttp%3A%2F%2Ftwitter.com&form=QBRE&format=rss
 
There’s a couple of problems with this though. Firstly, I don’t get the most recent tweets first and at the time of writing the most recent tweet that IS returned is from 20th May which is two weeks ago. I would prefer the ability to specify that the most important factor in determining relevancy is how recently the tweet was tweeted. In other words, show me the most recent tweets with "Live Mesh" in them. Perhaps there’s a way of doing this that I don’t know about – if you know a way then reply and tell me.
 
I certainly don’t expect the Live Search team to ever get wind of this blog entry (although I will submit it to http://feedback.live.com) but nevertheless I’ll keep checking over the coming months to see if the results improve and if they do I’ll be sure to let you know.
 
Jamie
 
 
Written by Jamiet

June 4, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

