Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

iTunes in Zune promotion shocker!

with 4 comments

I heard today of a neat little trick that the Zune, Live Messenger and/or MSN teams have pulled on unsuspecting iTunes users. If you are listening to a song on iTunes and you have got the ‘Show what I’m listening to’ feature:

image

enabled in Live Messenger then your messenger buddies will see a link to information about that song and artist:

image

 

Can you guess where that link takes you? Yep, you got it, whereas it used to take you to MSN Music it takes you to Zune Social:

image

iTunes promotes Zune, very sneaky indeed eh? I like it!

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

June 5, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Zune

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very clever!

    John

    June 5, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  2. That is pretty neat. I used to run "What I’m Listening To" plug-in to go with iTunes (until I discovered how with WMP 11),  and it would link me to place on MSN Music. The new way is much more cooler.

    Michael

    June 6, 2008 at 12:08 am

  3. Now thats what I call ballesy!!
     
    Good work MS

    Ryan

    June 6, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  4. cool.,  I dont know why but I still get the MSN music thing when I click on the song that being played. Im using the zune player to send this info to messenger aswell.

    Marcus

    June 19, 2008 at 10:01 pm


Leave a Reply

