Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Live Spaces sucks more and more day by day

with 7 comments

Yesterday I awoke to find that some scumbag called Max (http://ur-blog.spaces.live.com/) had left over 20 identical spam comments on my various blog entries and to say I was not amused was an understatement. Looking around some of my friends’ spaces I see he’s done it elsewhere as well.
I used the Report Abuse link at the bottom of every Spaces page to report him and was pleased to receive an email back from Live Support fairly quickly. It said:
we suggest that you remove the offensive comments that you deem inappropriate. You also have the option to change your permission settings to "Messenger" or "Private" so that only those who know you (either in your Messenger Contacts or MSN Address Book) can access your Space.
 
Well, I have at least two issues with that.
  • Firstly, I don’t want to restrict the general public from my blog. That’s the point of a blog – its there so that I can talk to the world.
  • Secondly the volume of spam comments that I get is now so big that I don’t have the time to go through and delete them all, primarily because Live Spaces doesn’t give me a good way of doing it. For every spam comment I have to browse to the blog entry, click edit, click delete, click save and then head back to Spaces Home to go through the same rigmarole.

That’s easily 30 seconds per comment and I simply don’t have time to go through that. How about just giving me the option to delete the comment from my Spaces Home page? Perhaps even using an AJAX popup rather than a full postback? None of this is helped by the fact that Spaces is getting slower and slower and slowwwwwwwwer.

Robert Scoble was right, Spaces sucks. In its current incarnation it does anyway. I’m making an assumption that they’re working on a complete overhaul given that we haven’t seen any significant changes in a long long time. I hope I’m right.

So, you may ask, why am I still here? The answer is complicated but in short I do think that Microsoft will get this right. Eventually. The stuff I talk about here is relevant to Windows Live so it makes sense to use the tools that I write about. Most importantly though is the thing I keep coming back to – I don’t need a seperate login to be able to use Spaces. I use the same login that I use for my Mail, for my calendar, for my files, for Mesh… Live ID gets me into more online properties that I need than any other login and that is very important to me.
 
-Jamie
Written by Jamiet

June 12, 2008 at 8:38 am

Posted in Live Spaces

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amen!
     
    And the thing that really gets me is that with every new release, Spaces seems to get *worse*. I found the very first release much easier to use than the current version.

    Chris

    June 12, 2008 at 9:18 am

  2. Alright mate, I have the same issue with one particular dude, but went about it a different way.  I emailed support asking if I can block/have blocked a person.  The response said they are looking at bringing in the ability to block individuals, which working in the server support industry I cannot see a problem with doing, creating your own ACL so to speak!  Rather than having an all or nothing policy.
     
    I supplied the web address of the space in question and they forwarded it onto the said correct department.  I have heard nothing since and have still had one or two messages from said person.

    Anthony

    June 12, 2008 at 9:35 am

  3. I have the same problem, but there is a quicker way to delete all the spam comments.  On your space page in edit mode, click on Summary, this will give you a list of your blog posts, click on where it says how many comments and it will show the comments along with a check box to delete, and you can do all the spam for mulitple posts in one hit :)
     
    But I agree, Spaces sucks when it comes to comments, and I can only find one way of stopping it: turn off comments. But that defeats the interaction perspective of a blog!
     
    SL

    Scott

    June 12, 2008 at 9:51 am

  4. Mike T. told between his comments that the team is working to improve the spaces about spam.
    I don’t know what they will improve, but this spam is boring!
     
    Have a nice day,
    Mat

    Mattia

    June 12, 2008 at 12:46 pm

  5. we just need to get more people into this website. real people. not spammers

    bryan

    June 12, 2008 at 5:27 pm

  6. yeah the staff member told me to just delete individual spam comments after asked if i could just block that person. how useless is that?! the latest photo display within a blog entry sucks as well. they bought back what i used to hate. that thumbnail that doesn’t show much and putting it in an album. it’s so user unfriendly.

    Theresa

    January 4, 2009 at 7:16 am

  7. Yeah can’t agree more, i’ve been having the same problem.. windows live is slow, and not the easiest to blog on anyway.. and it takes, as you’ve already mentioned a significant amount of time to make changes, like deleting comments and such. I’ve been looking at changing but I dont really want to lose the last 2 years of blogs i’ve already made.. I hope there is a complete overhaul soon!..

    David

    January 16, 2009 at 2:57 pm


Leave a Reply

