Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Live Search xRank gets bloggers

with one comment

I’ve recently become interested in Live Search xRank, principally because I’d like to see xRank info in Zune Social. I happened upon the xRank site today and got a pleasant surprise – they now chart bloggers as well. Check out xRank for Dilbert creator, Scott Adams:

image

Looks as though they are going after Technorati’s space although they’ve got some catching up to do. Both my blog here on Live Spaces and my work blog are listed on Technorati, whilst neither are on xRank (currently).

 

Let’s see how Technorati and xRank compare at the top of the chart:

image    image

Very different indeed. For example Technorati has Mike Arrington at number 2 (currently), on xRank he is currently number 191. I wonder what the differences are in how they both determine this stuff?

One things for sure though, I definitely prefer Live Search’s presentation of the information. To get the top 20 as per Technorati I have to scroll quite a way down, with xRank its right there in front of me above the fold. I know which I’ll be going to if I want a sneak peek, it’ll definitely be xRank.

 

-Jamie

P.S. Robert Scoble beat me to talking about this publicly because he has already twittered about it. I guess I should have posted my blog entry before I told him about it in a comment on Fastcompany.tv!! 🙂

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, xrank, story, live search

Written by Jamiet

June 15, 2008 at 7:38 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think they should rename xRank to Popular or What’s Hot. It would make much more sense to people.

    Sammy

    June 15, 2008 at 10:42 pm


Leave a Reply

