Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

What Mesh could bring to Zune

with 6 comments

If you read regularly then you’ll know I’m very interested in Mesh and Zune and have talked a lot about both in isolation so today I turned my thoughts to what benefits Mesh could bring to my Zune experience if the two were working together. As a result I posted some suggestions up on the Zune forums. Here they are for anyone that may be interested:

 

I would like the whole of my Zune experience to work atop the Live Mesh infrastructure that is currently getting implemented. Given that Live Mesh is a synchronisation platform there would be many benefits over and above what we have now:

  1. Ability to see (and administer) my media collection on any device (e.g. Zune, computer, Media Center, XBox, Mac)
  2. Currently to subscribe to a podcast I have to go to the computer on which I have Zune software installed. That’s not good because that computer is at home and I encounter podcasts that I want to subscribe to throughout the day. If the Zune experience were running on Live Mesh then I could subscribe to the podcast there and then and have it sync to my Zune device next time I plug in.
  3. Zune software is very CPU intensive, especially when syncing. Mesh syncs in the background during CPU idle time
  4. Plays by my friends can get synced to my Mesh even when I’m not "online". So, I can browse to the Zune application running on my Mesh at any time and see what all my friends are listening to in real-time
  5. I can buy songs on Zune Marketplace (or, in fact, anywhere) and save them to my media collection no matter where I am – just so long as I’m online.
  6. If my media collection is "on the Mesh" then it will be accessible to other applications as well, not just Zune. So, perhaps my media collection could end up on my phone as well, or be used by my Sonos system etc…
  7. Mesh should make it easier for me to view my friends’ playlists as well. If they existed on the Mesh then they just have to share those with me just as we will do with anything on the Mesh.

What do you think? Any other ways that Zune can leverage Mesh?

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

June 18, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Posted in Live Mesh

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like them  :)

    CJM

    June 18, 2008 at 9:08 pm

  2. You got it Simon. That’s exactly what I’m talking about!

    Jamie

    June 20, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  3. Isn’t this what Windows Home Server was designed for.  I think the ugly DRM monster would prevent this.

    John

    June 20, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  4. Correct me if I’m wrong but DRM prevents you from playing music on more than a certain number of devices. It doesn’t stop you from copying those files to as many places as you want. Does it?
     
    I don’t think WHS fits here. Its not a synchronisation engine. How could I (e.g.) subscribe to a podcast using WHS?
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    June 23, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  5. Oh, and DRM is only relevant to copyrighted content. I’m talknig about syncing a lot more than that.
     
    -jamie

    Jamie

    June 23, 2008 at 3:20 pm


Leave a Reply

