Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

One storage volume per LiveID

with 4 comments

I have heard a lot of talk lately coming out of Microsoft that they want to unify all their Live services into one cohesive whole. In other words, there are less seperate properties like Spaces, Hotmail, Office Live Workspaces etc… and instead you are just a user of Windows Live.
 
The upcoming change to the Windows Live header that Liveside talked about is a pointer to this.
 
Great, go for it. I can’t wait to see it.
 
Another way that they can unify all their services is to provide one single amount of storage per Live ID. Currently my Live ID gives me access to the following cloud storage sinks:
  • 10GB on Hotmail
  • 5GB on Skydrive
  • 5GB on Mesh
  • 5GB on Office Live Workspaces

That’s a total of 25GB of storage in the cloud. Instead of segregating that storage over different properties would it not make sense to just give me a single 25GB cloud storage space which is then shared between all the different properties? I would then want to know how much was being used by each of the properties so I can envisage something like this:

live_cloud_storage_usage2.JPG 

That makes much more sense to people that have been brought up on Windows. I have a desktop computer that has a finite amount of total space on it but I’m not limited to only using a certain amount of it for (say) Excel files. Should the same not be true of the cloud as well? 

Can we have this Microsoft? Will it make a difference if I ask really nicely?

-Jamie

P.S. I submitted this idea to http://feedback.live.com and if you agree you should do the same. I also added it to my feedback lista.

Written by Jamiet

June 24, 2008 at 11:26 am

Posted in Windows Live

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s actually a good idea. I don’t keep many of my messages from my e-mail, so I don’t really need the 5GB solely for just e-mail storage. I could use that storage on another Live service instead. Much better way of doing it.
     
    Wonderful idea.

    Sammy

    June 24, 2008 at 11:46 am

  2. Don’t forget that OC also offers Online storage.

    CJM

    June 24, 2008 at 5:37 pm

  3. Has Office Live Workspaces increased its storage as you say it provides 5GB ? I think it provides 500MB at present.And yes I also think of providing a unified single storage or at least when logged in with Live ID should show the available space for each services and we should be able to allot the Spaces to different services as per our requirement.And how about Silverlight Streaming account where it provides 10GB of Space.

    vasudev

    June 25, 2008 at 1:40 am

  4. Vasudev,
    I admit I don’t know how much space OLW offers. For the purposes of the point of this post then the numbers weren’t important but I should have researched it more thoroughly. Sorry.
     
    And yes, SLS should definitely be in the mix.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    June 25, 2008 at 8:25 am


Leave a Reply

