Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Will twitter become as ubiquitous as other forms of communication?

with 2 comments

A quote for you.
 
"If [Twitter] can get the platform stable, I believe they will eventually become as ubiquitous as email, instant messaging, sms and other forms of communication." – Mike Arrington
 
I think that’s bulls*** personally. I presume that "other forms of communication" includes the telephone and in my opinion Twitter is never going to get the penetration that that particular technology has. Not in my lifetime anyway. I don’t even think it will scale the heights that instant messaging and SMS have. I DO believe that these technologies will converge into a commodity market and eventually the debate about whether to use the phone, Twitter, IM, SMS or any other communication medium will be a moot one. Its what we communicate that is important, not how we communicate it.
 
Like all good things that are open to debate Mike’s statement is also open to interpretation not least because he didn’t give a timeframe. Just for fun I’ve set myself a reminder in my Live Calendar to come back here on a future anniversary of this blog entry and see if Mike is proved correct. Or not.
 
By the way, catch me on twitter at http://twitter.com/jamiet
 
-Jamie
Written by Jamiet

June 25, 2008 at 10:14 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like the stable platform part. Something must be fundermentally wrong over at twitter to be this flakey for so long. I understand they must have moving targets as more users hit the system but I can’t recall the last day it actually worked. I like the concept but wonder what it would take for Messenger or Skype to offer the same service with stability. If this happened then maybe it would get more adoption.

    John

    June 25, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  2. I don’t think so. Twitter doesn’t leave enough room to write some more stuff in. Plus it’s not like you can respond back or anything. I only think Twitter as a one-way communication of your status at the moment. Not like a voice-to-voice conversations, IMing a friend, or anything like that.
     
    I don’t really get the Twitter craze. I don’t really care much about everyone’s status at the moment, because it’s bound to change anyway.

    Michael

    June 27, 2008 at 10:08 pm


Leave a Reply

