Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

New photo on www.live.com

with one comment

It looks like we’re in for a few more of these photos-as-search-backgrounds. This ones all about glacier hiking.

image

What do you think about these photos? I’m not sure quite how useful they’re going to be fr selling Live Search but I like the two photos that they’ve used so far.

 

If you go to www.live.com and you don’t see the above photo then its probably because you’re not in the US – I get around it by having my regional settings set to US (I need to in order for my Zune plays to upload). You could try going to http://www.live.com/?mkt=en-us

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

July 11, 2008 at 9:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They can be distracting, especially this one. The whiteness of the ice in the picture, almost blends pretty well with the search box, so it can be distracting.
     
    I know there’s some people out there that might want to customize their search page like this, but I just hope there’s an option not to allow background images on my Live search homepage. Maybe if you could upload your own photo, I’d be fine, but I don’t want Microsoft only choosing what goes up and down.
     
    They should be improving the search part of Live Search, more than the look (which is quite fine already, I must say). Like one of Microsoft’s own sites, "On10" shows up several pages away in the search, and "LiveSide" is two or 3 links down from an obscure link to the real site. The team should take the Wikia route, and allow users to customize some of the search.

    Michael

    July 11, 2008 at 10:19 pm


Leave a Reply

