Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

A tour around Live Desktop

with 3 comments

2 days ago the Live Mesh team released an update to Live Mesh that enables us to sync files peer-to-peer (i.e. device-to-device) without syncing them to the cloud. I’ve produced a video that shows how this manifests itself in the Live Desktop which I’ve embedded below.

 http://silverlight.services.live.com/invoke/57578/AtouraroundMesh'sLiveDesktop/iframe.html

Let me know your thoughts. Do you want more of these types of short show-and-tell videos? If so I’ll see what I can do.

-Jamie

P.S. The video is hosted on Silverlight Streaming. You will need Silverlight installed in order to view it.Windows Live Tags: Clubhouse, Live Mesh, How-to

Written by Jamiet

July 13, 2008 at 5:26 pm

Posted in Live Mesh

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent information.  Another interesting feature was the ability to actually connect to a desktop, not just file synch.  With the newer version I was actually able to install it on a Windows 2008 Server and then after signing in with my Passport credentials, when I connected to the object that represented by Windows Vista machine I saw the Vista desktop change and then appear on my Windows 2008 session.  Seems to be shooting for more than just file synchronization.  I have to say throughput and response time were pretty good, I will have to try this over the WAN next.

    John

    July 13, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  2. I’m curious — what are you using for your screen capture?

    Robert

    July 17, 2008 at 3:32 am

  3. Hi Robert,
    I’m using Camtasia.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    July 17, 2008 at 8:14 am


Leave a Reply

