Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Live Calendar gets an update

with 4 comments

I woke up this morning to find that Windows Live Calendar had had an update overnight but short of a few UI tweaks I’m finding it really difficult to find anything that’s particularly new about it. I was hoping for a plethora of new features but the only one I’ve managed to find so far is the ability to receive an email at the beginning of every day with your agenda for that day.
 
calendar_receive_emails.JPG
 
Unfortunately the setting is per calendar which isn’t particularly useful to me because I have 7 different calendars. I would prefer to receive a single email for all of my calendars or, even better, have the ability to choose a subset of my calendars to be included on the email.
 
Apart from that I really can’t see much else. If I find anything I’ll update this post; likewise if you find anything else let me know by posting a comment would you? Thanks!
 
Its very strange for a software team to to the trouble of rolling out an update to their service unless there is a very good reason to do so therefore given the lack of UI changes I suspect there’s quite a lot that has gone on under the covers. I wonder if we’ll be getting a Calendar API any time soon?
 
Jamie
 
UPDATE: Paul Storm noticed one very very important new feature. We can now subscribe to calendars that exist out on the web. That means you can now go to icalshare, find a calendar on anything that interests you and view it at http://calendar.live.com. Data portability lives – great stuff!
 
This was my #2 request for Live Calendar when it first got released.
Written by Jamiet

July 16, 2008 at 9:16 am

Posted in Live Calendar

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for catching that.  I think this is the one application within Windows Live that brings considerable disappointment.

    John

    July 16, 2008 at 11:43 am

  2. Paul,
    I never saw that but yeah, you’re right. And I don’t want to downplay this either – that is a HUGE leap forward. That was my #2 request when Live Calendar was first released.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    July 16, 2008 at 12:03 pm

  3. I don’t know what took them so long for a few minor things. Even a link from Hotmail. Glad to see they’re doing something.

    Michael

    July 16, 2008 at 8:56 pm


Leave a Reply

