Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Storing Messenger conversations on the Mesh

with 3 comments

As I interact more and more with Live Mesh I’m having more and more ideas about how it could be leveraged. Even if you have access to www.mesh.com right now you really haven’t been a party to the full Mesh experience; no-one outside of Microsoft has. Its intriguing though to think about what will be possible when the platform really hits its straps.
 
With that in mind here’s a feature request for the Live Messenger team. Currently I don’t save my Live Messenger conversations but often I’ll think to myself "Ahhh…I once talked about that with someone in a Messenger conversation, pity I don’t have a record of it". I’m sure I’m not the only person that does that. Wouldn’t it be cool if all of our Messenger conversations were automatically saved to the Mesh? That way every conversation I have would be recorded and I would be able to search through them all as well.
 
Furthermore, once our conversations are stored on the Mesh then we can access them all programatically using the Mesh APIs that will soon be delivered and take that content, our content, and share it to wherever we want to share it to. Perhaps we could choose that our conversations are searchable for other people; perhaps http://search.live.com/messenger becomes a window onto a wealth of thoughts and ideas that until now simply don’t exist because they’re not recorded anywhere. There’s lots of possibilities here when you start to think of Mesh as more than just a file sync engine.

Better still, it wouldn’t just do this with typed conversations. My audio and/or video conversations would be recorded too. And THEY become searchable as well.

I think this is a pretty exciting possibility. What do you think?

-Jamie
 
Written by Jamiet

July 17, 2008 at 8:57 am

Posted in Live Mesh

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like that idea, it’s something I’ve thought about while looking for information about Messenger 9. To be comprehensive it would also have to index conversations held over the web messenger, the client for Windows Mobile and the client built into the Xbox 360. I use them all, from time to time and it would be so useful to have a record of everything. I would hate to miss out on some conversations because I was using a client that didn’t sync with the central chat index.

    Paul

    July 17, 2008 at 10:44 am

  2. Didn’t think of that Paul. Spot on – it’d have to work from everywhere. And that includes conversations that you have in messenger clients that are built using the API, or the Messenger IM control.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    July 17, 2008 at 10:51 am

  3. Agreed, need Mesh client for the XBox as well as the Zune.

    John

    July 17, 2008 at 1:07 pm


Leave a Reply

