Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

What is the UK’s most popular web application?

with 7 comments

In terms of minutes spent online, what do you suppose is the UK’s most popular web-based website or service? Google? Facebook? iTunes? eBay? Maybe Second Life? MySpace perhaps? Well if you said one of those you’d be wrong on all counts, its actually Windows Live Messenger….and by some distance too.

Check out the latest standings as gathered from a report by Nielson Online.

image

I was quite shocked when I saw that, I never expected Live Messenger to top all that lot but I’m happy that it does. I’m a big believer that Messenger is an incredibly underused tool and I said so in my blog post I believe that Agents are our future… back in December 2007:

I look forward to the day when I am able to view my bank balance, pay my bills, purchase things from Amazon, book flights, view live flight information, update personal details that people may have about me and do countless other things that I haven’t thought of yet all from within my Live Messenger window.

Thanks to Riann for the tip. You can catch Riann on Twitter by the way at http://twitter.com/riaanvs, he’s got quite a lot to say about Messenger.

-Jamie

Windows Live Tags: Clubhouse, Story, Live Messenger, Messenger

Written by Jamiet

July 18, 2008 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Live Messenger

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheers for the ping Jamie.

    Riaan

    July 18, 2008 at 10:16 pm

  2. Stupid survey.What is the world’s most popular action1. Sleep   /average monthly world minutes: 12,600

    K

    July 20, 2008 at 8:12 am

  3. Wow. I wish it was the same here in America…they don’t advertise Messenger here as much, so it’s a mix between AIM and Live Messenger.

    Albert

    July 20, 2008 at 8:10 pm

  4. Are you sure MSN Messenger really means "Live Messenger"? Are they talking about the old MSN client, or are the referring to what Microsoft now call Live Messenger?
     
    I know some people still refer to Microsoft’s IM service as "MSN", but I can’t help but wonder if that’s really the old one, or the latest one.

    Sammy

    July 21, 2008 at 9:53 am

  5. Sammy,
    Its the same thing. Trust me.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    July 21, 2008 at 10:21 am

  6. WMP and iTunes are web applications? Funny. I never really thought about them this way. The only web part I see is just the download stores on each. But that’s it.

    Michael

    July 21, 2008 at 10:42 pm

  7. This isn’t really a fair assessment.  Messenger clients can idly sit open ticking away the minutes, while web sites are used for specific active periods of time.  This makes the data collected above rather meaningless.

    Matt

    August 6, 2008 at 5:50 pm


Leave a Reply

