Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

The first vertical service in Windows Live wave 3 rears its head

with 8 comments

Back in November 2007 I wrote a blog entry called "Windows Live’s vertical offerings" where I said:
I am interested to see what will constitute Windows Live wave 3. Microsoft’s success is built upon providing platforms and that is exactly what Windows Live now is – its a platform. A platform for what though? Well clearly Microsoft want third parties to build upon that platform but I wouldn’t mind betting that Microsoft themselves will be providing their own applications on top of this myriad of services and that’s what I think wave 3 will be all about. This is what I like to refer to as vertical offerings on the horizontal platform.
Another way to think of Windows Live as it is today is that it forms an infrastructure on which other applications can be built. I use the term "vertical offerings" to refer to applications that are built using this infrastructure that have a specific purpose in mind and today we saw the first incarnation of one such application with the preview release of Windows Live FrameIt (as usual Liveside have all the details).
 
FrameIt allows us to specify stuff to be displayed on a digital photo frame. What I find really compelling about this idea isn’t that we can display a carousel of digital photos in our living room (we’ve been able to do that for years) but that we can display other content as well. For example, I can have the morning’s news headlines presented to me which I can read while I’m eating my cornflakes whilst in the evening the photo frame can show the evening’s TV listings. There are a lot of form factors other than digital photo frames that could leverage FrameIt, Epigraph is one obvious example. Photo frames are just the start.
 
Like Liveside I suspect that Microsoft will be partnering with hardware manufacturers to produce digital photo frames that specifically leverage FrameIt and those I expect those to be with us before too long.
 
-Jamie
Written by Jamiet

July 31, 2008 at 11:15 am

Posted in Windows Live

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Once again, a Windows Live service rolls out but no where near the same media fanfare as if Google had simply belched.

    John

    July 31, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  2. To be fair John it hasn’t exactly "rolled out" – there’s a long way to go with it yet. What I find interesting about this is that it will apepal to the long tail of internet users rather than the early adopters, especially when Microsoft partner with the hardware manufacturers.

    Jamie

    July 31, 2008 at 12:45 pm

  3. I second John J’s remarks. Truly this is a forward and innovative step.

    Kelly

    July 31, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  4. Yeah I guess the term "roll out" is hard to define when talking about internet based services/applications/platforms.  I used the term because I tested it and it worked.  My point was more in relation to Google announces that they are changing the spelling of a word and the internet is all a buzz about the great things Google is doing.  What is interesting is that when you look at earlier "MSN Direct" project with the watches, weather stations, it is basically the same concept but much more flexible.

    John

    July 31, 2008 at 2:34 pm

  5. I don’t find this a fantastic idea. Everything just ends up accumulating more and more feature bloat and everything eventually ends up becoming a computer. A photo frame is just that. A photo frame, and if I need news information, why would I get it from a photo frame?

    crestind

    July 31, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  6. Spot on crestind, everything ends up being a computer. Or put more descriptively, everything has intelligence in it. Personally I think that’s a good thing and its a natural progression to be honest. Even your toaster today has a modicum of intelligence to it.
     
    I admit to being a gadget freak however so I would be expected to say that.
     
    N.B. Note I am NOT saying that I want my toaster to become an all-singing, all-dancing multimedia hub :)

    Jamie

    July 31, 2008 at 3:16 pm

  7. P.S. To those who might, understandably, question why you want your photo frame to be "intelligent" take the following example. Digital photo frames today are generally left on all the time – that’s a waste of energy and in these eco-friendly times that’s an important consideration. An "intelligent" photo frame could be setup to turn itself off during the day when no-one is in or, even better, turn itself on when someone enters the room. That’s strikes me as a good thing and yes, its because the photo frame has effectively become a computer.

    Jamie

    July 31, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  8. Jamie,
     
    I have begun to mess with FramIt based on John J’s suggestions.  However, I am finding it a bit awkward at first to truly learn the inner workings of it!  However, as with anything else that has Microsoft stamped on it or affilliated with it I will figure it out very soon and have it working to my benefit!
     
    Thanks for sharing this with us and have a blessed and wonderful day my friend!
     
    Greg

    Greg

    August 1, 2008 at 1:08 am


Leave a Reply

