Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Evernote – Your memory downloaded

with 2 comments

image

I recently discovered Evernote and I’m glad that I did. Have you ever heard of it? According to the blurb Evernote "allows you to easily capture information in any environment using whatever device or platform you find most convenient, and makes this information accessible and searchable at any time, from anywhere".

image

I’ve got a more succinct tagline for them

"Your memory. Downloaded."

Evernote’s USP is that it can read text inside photos and then index it for you so that you can easily find it later, so let me show you an example of that. Yesterday I was strolling through London Waterloo station and I snapped one of the departure boards using my Windows Mobile smartphone and then, using the Evernote client, uploaded it. That is all I had to to do and now I can now go to http://www.evernote.com, search for one of the stations listed on that departure board and hey presto…it finds it. Check out the results of my search for "Clapham Junction":

image 

I think that’s genius. I’m going to be snap happy with my camera phone now, every single bit of information that I see is going to be photographed and put straight into Evernote; my new favourite web service. If I meet you, you can be sure I’ll be photographing you holding your business card in front of your face.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

August 7, 2008 at 8:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very cool

    John

    August 7, 2008 at 1:30 pm

  2. I’ve been a user of Evernote since 1.x. Unfortunately, version three is the worst of the lot.  In their effort to get all of the web 2.0 mess in the application as well as grab user’s who believe ‘cloud computing’ is best, even if features are gone, they ripped out the most useful features of Evernote like the ability to create templates for your notes.  For example, I have a template for messages that has fields for what type of message, who sent it, date, follow up and the message body itself.  There were templates for most any need.  They also messed up the tagging feature. The useful cross-tagging features and some of the search capability is gone.  I think they still have version 2.2 on the site.  Download it and play it with and I think you’ll see it is far better. It does not sync with the ‘cloud’ but, for me, that’s fine.  Since I use it for work, and my company has policies about what information can go where, the cloud aspect is a moot point.  I feel rather betrayed by the folks at Evernote.  Myself and many of Evernote’s long time users wrote in the forums about this only to have those messages removed when they ‘simplified’the forums.  I am rather tempted to purchase a license for Microsoft OneNote to use at work.  I have it home and use it all the time but have used my three licenses on three of my home computers so I’d need to buy another. 
     

    George

    August 31, 2008 at 4:25 pm


Leave a Reply

