Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

More on storing Messenger conversations on the Mesh

with 12 comments

3 weeks ago I wrote a blog entry Storing Messenger conversations on the Mesh where I said:

Currently I don’t save my Live Messenger conversations … Wouldn’t it be cool if all of our Messenger conversations were automatically saved to the Mesh? That way every conversation I have would be recorded and I would be able to search through them all as well.

I made the same suggestion on the Live Mesh forum along with some reasons why this would be a good idea and whilst there was general support for the idea it was suggested that instead I configure Messenger to automatically store all of my conversations and then sync the "C:UsersjamieDocumentsMy Received Files<ID>" folder using Mesh. This I did and its been working pretty well for me (I recommend trying it for yourself) and now, as you can see below, I have a history of all of my Messenger conversations synchronised across all of my machines:

image

After using this for a few weeks now though I have realised that there are some fallacies to this approach that could be alleviated by having Messenger automatically store conversations to Mesh; those being:

  • All conversations with the same person are stored in the same file thus if you have a conversation with the same person on different machines then there will likely be a file conflict. When you resolve that conflict then at least one of the conversations gets lost.
  • The Mesh client is a pre-requisite.
  • Conversations done on the web using a Messenger web interface don’t get captured anywhere.
  • Files that are transferred don’t get stored.
  • Anything done in the Activity window is lost.
  • Audio conversations are lost.
  • Video conversations are lost.

All of these could be alleviated if Messenger was "Meshified". Let me just clarify what I mean by that; it does not mean that all your Messenger conversations need to be conducted on www.mesh.com, it means that the Messenger service in the cloud (the one through which orchestrates all Messenger conversations) becomes responsible for storing your conversations on the Mesh.

I’m going to be actively campaigning for the Messenger team to implement this. Is anyone with me?

-Jamie

In the clubhouse: clubhouse, Messenger, How-to, Mesh
Written by Jamiet

August 11, 2008 at 6:06 pm

Posted in Live Messenger

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Been pushing this for years.   I am am behind you 100%, anything you need form me, just ask  :)

    CJM

    August 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm

  2. Jamie,
     
    I would be supportive of it, however, I guess maybe I am a little blind as to the need!  What would be the benefit of being able to store archived messages to "Mesh" if you are able to do so in Messenger already!  I see what you mean by accessing them from different computer’s and such, however, I would like to think that I have an active memory and can remember a whole host of things from the people that I communicate with!
     
    This was a great post and maybe I just need to experiment with it to see the possibilities of such a thing!
     
    Have a wonderful and blessed day my friend!
     
    Greg

    Greg

    August 11, 2008 at 6:54 pm

  3. I am behind you 100%
    And is there two get mesh two work with Popfly and Zune and Xboxlive and Office Live and SkyDrive and Windows live spaces.
    Next and when can we shared search and rate the search any on windows live conntacts are searching four.
    What is going two bee done Jellyfish.
     

    Joseph

    August 11, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  4. I think it’s a great idea, specifically being “meshified”.  As to the actual use, other than reference I couldn’t say.  But I think this train of thought needs to be followed for other products, like favorites in explore, or posts from live writer, if these were “meshified” and automatically backed to mesh I would be thrilled!!!

    Nik

    August 11, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  5. Thanks all for the comments.
     
    Greg, the basic benefit of storing in the cloud is simply that you don’t lose your conversatoins when you buy a new computer. I would love to be able to look back in 50 years time and see whatI’ve been chatting about down the years. A bonus of storing in the cloud is that they are always available for searching, or even mashups.
     
    Nik, you’re right, there’s loads of things for which Mesh can be leveraged. Here’s another idea, your custom word list from MS Word is stored in the Mesh and thus is available to other applications.
     
    -Jamie

    Jamie

    August 11, 2008 at 8:22 pm

  6. Hi Jamie,
        While I think this is a great idea, I have to express the privay concerns.  With certain Governments (not necessarily the US alone) wanting to be able to search through our texts and phone calls, I would hate to consider the idea of a centrally located warehouse of all of our conversations.
        There would have to be some fashion of protection for the users.  Something along the lines of "only releasing information under a legal court order," and "notifying the end-user(s) that their records were subpoenaed."
        So, I wouldn’t go so far as to automatically "meshify" the conversations.  However, I would agree to Messenger making that an option for where they can be stored (and having the functionality built in to store messages from different machines).  The second would have to become a necessity, due to features in programs such as Messenger Plus and others which allow for signing from multiple computers.
    Have a great day:)Patrick.

    PATRICK

    September 21, 2008 at 10:11 pm

  7. Hi Patrick,
    Thanks for the comment. Let’s just clarify though, storing conversations on the Mesh does not in any way mean that our conversations are "stored centrally" anywhere. Don’t make the assumption that all of our conversations need to live in the cloud somewhere. One of the great things about Mesh is that if you want your data to only live on your computers then it can do.
     
    Regards
    Jamie

    Jamie

    September 22, 2008 at 7:34 am

  8. I agree with your suggestion.  It would be great for Live Messenger to have a checkbox saying "Store all message history in my Mesh".If you are going to start syncing your messenger conversations manually and you already have a history on more than one computer there is a tool which is invaluable: MSN Messenger History Merger.Before hooking your history folder to the Mesh grab a copy of all your current history folders and merge them.  Then update your history folder with the merged result and sync that to the mesh from one computer.  You can then (after taking a backup of course) start with an empty folder on all your other computers and they can pull your entire, merged history down from the cloud.  Once that folder is synced you have effectively a single history over multiple computers.I don’t know what happens now Messenger v9 Wave 3 has multi-sign in.  Does it update the history at both sites simultaneously?  However if you only sign in at one place at a time you should be fine.

    Adrian

    September 25, 2008 at 12:14 am

  9. well…actually, i think that the best solution would be that Microsoft should storage history of all conversations somewhere on the net so people who had to reinstall their operating system could still see those conversations

    Gavrilo

    February 8, 2009 at 7:19 pm

  10. Romantic Punter,Isn’t that what I said?

    Jamie

    February 8, 2009 at 7:53 pm

  11. Jamie,Great tip, I come across this via the Windows Live wave 4 post. I didn’t cross my mind to do this with mesh. mmm if only Windows Live for Mobile messenger saved the history in the same way! 😉

    Jasper

    February 13, 2009 at 3:46 am

  12. hell yeah!

    Akshay

    April 24, 2009 at 6:01 pm


Leave a Reply

