Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Attachments? Pah!

with 7 comments

"Am I the only person that is bothered by email attachments? I ask the question because I’m of the opinion that the proliferation of word documents, PDFs, installer binaries and other such detritus that litters my and many other people’s inbox is an unnecessary and unjustified cancer on the technical infrastructure of enterprises and of the web."

I just posted this slightly inflammatory comment on my work blog in an entry entitled Attachments must die! Click-through if you want to read my justification of it. Or if you just want to flame me.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

August 17, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I often wonder why we bother to keep a sharepoint server running when people just email attachments to their distribution lists.  It’s like we have the worst of both worlds.

    Jordan

    August 17, 2008 at 8:46 pm

  2. So very true.  It is a major source of frustration I have when people attach a file, not a shortcut.  Even worse, I work in IT.  The amount of data duplication is just ugly.

    John

    August 17, 2008 at 10:02 pm

  3. i’m annoyed by attachements, most especially the ones that are emails attached to emails attached to emails ad infinitum. 
     
    It comes down to familiarity.  Almost anyone who has used email knows how to do attachements.  But using a sharepoint server or a common workspace would require taking time to learn something new.  So many people just don’t want to take that time.  I vented to my folks once about them mass emailing their vacation photos (often 12 per email) when I said there was an easier way to simply upload them online.  Result:  I just dont get emails from them anymore.  That backfired!  They just don’t want to take the little time it takes to learn something different from what they’re familiar and comfortable with.

    Chris

    August 18, 2008 at 12:40 am

  4. I totally agree.  I also agree with Chris.  People in general are just slow at learning new things.  And not only must they learn how to use it, there must be other people using it with them.  The future is great to look at, but hard to wait for…

    Nik

    August 18, 2008 at 2:08 am

  5. Jamie,I am with you!  With the marvelous introduction of SkyDrive wouldn’t it just be as easy for these people to post their material there and merely provide you with a link to it and leave the decision up to you as to view it or not!  I guess this means we really must spread the word about SkyDrive and all of it’s wonderful possibilities!Have a wonderful and blessed week my friend!Greg

    Greg

    August 18, 2008 at 5:27 am

  6. Its convenience, more than anything. Look at the number of steps it takes to get something to Sharepoint or Skydrive. Load up the page, click upload, upload the file, then get the link and make sure proper permissions are assigned to the location and send it out in email. Or, you can just open an email up and copy the file over.
    Definitely with you, send links to the locations, but wanted to bring this up.

    Karan

    August 18, 2008 at 3:06 pm

  7. @Karen then they should use Windows Live Mail. Then they can send a photo mail, which I believe uploads the pictures and provides the link to the images. It’s been a while since I’ve looked at that feature, so I could be wrong, but I believe that’s how it works.
     
    SL

    Scott

    August 20, 2008 at 2:02 pm


Leave a Reply

