Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Windows Live for Windows Mobile won’t connect?

with 7 comments

Since 22nd August I’ve been suffering some problems with Windows Live for Windows Mobile. Ever time I tried to sync my mail and contacts I was getting an error message saying "Failed to synchronise the folder list. Windows Live is temporarily unable to connect. You may be out of coverage for data connections. Please try again later, or contact your mobile service provider for assistance. Sync failed."

I left a comment on the Windows Live for Windows Mobile team blog asking for assistance and Ram from the team replied saying:

"One thing might be that some data plans allow only use of HTTP traffic and Windows Live for Windows Mobile requires TCP connectivity to work."

I decided to investigate and it turns out Ram might be correct. My phone has the ability to connect to the internet using wifi and when I turned that on and synced then it worked fine. As soon as I reverted back to using my regular GPRS connection (i.e. using my service provider) the sync failure occurred again. The only mystery now is that this was working right up until 22nd August so what suddenly changed on that day to men that it no longer worked? Strange!

In case anyone’s bothered my service provider is Vodafone in the UK. I don’t know what plan I’m on because my employer picks up the tab.

I’m only writing this in case someone else has the same problem and comes wandering in here via a search. If that is you, let me know in the comments.

cheers

Jamie

Written by Jamiet

September 3, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Windows Live

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent, thank you very much (whoever you are) that worked perfectly.
     

    Jamie

    October 12, 2008 at 4:13 am

  2. what worked perfectly? i have the same problem, but cannot find the answer anywhere…

    halbe

    July 10, 2009 at 9:44 pm

  3. halbeI don’t recall, sorry. And the link to Vodafone’s forums doesn’t work anymore. cheers Vodafone – you just get better and better don’t you? (heavy sarcasm intended)-Jamie

    Jamie

    July 11, 2009 at 2:12 pm

  4. I to am having this problem and after 8 calls still no resolution. What specifially do I have to do to fix this

    Brandi

    August 2, 2009 at 4:15 am

  5. This is a recent problem for me too!

    Gaz

    August 11, 2009 at 10:17 am

  6. As soon as i try to check my e mail once i am connected to windows live mail using my pc that works with vodafone mobile broadband, the connection to the internet cuts off. What is going on ?

    Emilio

    October 25, 2009 at 10:53 am


Leave a Reply

