Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

My 10 secrets blog entry goes stratospheric!

with 6 comments

Here’s a pleasant little titbit of news; well for me it is anyway. My blog entry 10 hidden secrets of Windows Live has broken 1million views on www.windowslive.com.

 

image

What’s even more surprising is that on 4th September it had had 121538 views so we’re talking nearly 900000 views in a very very short space of time. Sure, I know its currently linked to on the homepage but that link has been there since 14th August.

So, what has happened that could have prompted a 900+% increase in 4 days I wonder? Oh yeah, 4th September was the day that that advert got released; I guess there really is no such thing as bad publicity.

-Jamie

 

Written by Jamiet

September 8, 2008 at 3:41 pm

Posted in Windows Live

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We’ve actually been featuring your post in some of our on-line advertising, including on the MSN homepage so that’s most likely the reason.  Great job!

    Marcus

    September 8, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  2. cool, thanks marcus. I don’t see anything on there myself but I’ll keep looking.

    Jamie

    September 8, 2008 at 9:13 pm

  3. Yeah, it rotates around with other ads.  But even a slice of the MSN traffic is a pretty big fire hose of page views!

    Marcus

    September 8, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  4. Yeah, it rotates around with other ads.  But even a slice of the MSN traffic is a pretty big fire hose of page views!

    Marcus

    September 8, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  5. I caught it on the bottom of a hotmail message sent to me…"Want to do more with Windows Live? Learn “10 hidden secrets” from Jamie. Learn Now"

    Geoffrey

    September 10, 2008 at 5:22 pm

  6. I know that I was REALLY surprised when I saw an add featuring you on the live pop-up that comes with messenger.  Here I thought you were just one of the guys… And then I see that they are promoting your posts as well as the fact that you were using the events page for that little date you have set up.  I’m not sure if congrats are in order the correct protocol is, but you must be doing something right :-)Hope everything is going well, especially in the next few weeks…

    Eric

    September 10, 2008 at 11:39 pm


Leave a Reply

