Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, words and deeds

Windows Live wave 3 shorts

with 4 comments

I’ve been following the plethora of Windows Live wave 3 posts all day long (and god, there have been a lot) but in amongst it all I’ve managed to find a few features that I haven’t seen mentioned anywhere else yet.

 

Auto-Collage Integration

image
If you have Auto-Collage installed then you can launch it from within Windows Live Photo Gallery. A nice touch indeed.

 

 

 

Live Events in Messenger

image

If you have joined any events at http://events.live.com then those events appear as groups within your Messenger contact list. Groups are a new feature in wave 3 and are something I’ve banged on about quite a lot over the past year, I never expected that Events would morph into Groups though. Still, its a pointer to where this was going and I suspect a lot of the things that I predicted in my January 2008 blog entry Active directory in the cloud are about to see the light of day.

 

 

 

Windows Live Call

image

Windows Live Call is now a separate shortcut in the start menu. There isn’t much to talk about just yet but the message hints at something bigger and this doesn’t surprise me at all given that the existing Windows Live Call service provided by Verizon has recently lapsed. Are Microsoft trying to bundle a Skype killing VOIP service with Windows Live? I wouldn’t be surprised if they were.

 

So not much, only three things found so far. I’ll post more as and when I find them.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

September 17, 2008 at 7:52 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ugh… it’s just great that the designs for all the betas are already inconsistent.

    crestind

    September 17, 2008 at 10:04 pm

  2. I’ve always liked the word "plethora"…hehe.Anywho, I have a feeling you are right on the money with Windows Live Call because I was on a random website where they had a list of ID numbers in a phone number format (555-555-5555) and WLC had turned them into links which I unknowingly clicked on and got a small window asking me if I was sure I wanted to call the number and to not give my personal information. So yeah…found that interesting.

    Albert

    September 17, 2008 at 11:30 pm

  3. Great additional features.  I didn’t know about the AutoCollage integration.  I need to blog about AutoCollage soon and this reminded me.  :-)

    Marcus

    September 26, 2008 at 8:09 pm

  4. Can someone help we with a problem?
     
    I installed (at the instruction of Microsoft Support) Windows Live for Windows Mobile (WLfWM) on my Windows Mobile 6.1 device (ATT Tilt).
     
    Now, (read this carefully) I can’t synchronize between the Windows Mobile 6.1 device and Outlook 2003 on my XPSP3 PC using ActiveSync 4.5 via a USB cable! 
     
    I get an error message "ActiveSync encountered a problem on the desktop. Support Message:86000107".
     
    Microsoft’s various support groups are pointing fingers at each other.  And seems no one knows what to do! I’m left on my own, thus this note. 
     
    Before I loaded WLfWM this syncing worked great.
     
    I need this because WLFWM doesn’t sync calendars! For that matter, syncing contacts WLfWM to Windows Live Hotmail (WLHM) resulted in a number of unexplainable (by Microsoft support) duplicates.
     
    If anyone here can help me, please let me know.
     
    I was going to junk Yahoo and move to the Windows Live family, but I must get it to work (and not destroy) first!

    Jim

    November 10, 2008 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

