Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Deleting comments from Windows Live Spaces

with 16 comments

Spammers piss me off! No really, they’re scumbags; one particularly chatty person left over 50 spam comments on my Live Space this weekend. Deleting them all via your Spaces Home page is a real pain in the neck because each comment requires a round-trip of 4 mouse-clicks and each one results in a new page load – none of which are particularly speedy. Thankfully there’s a little known place from where deleting comments is much much easier.

The URL is http://<spaces-id>.mobile.spaces.live.com. You should replace <spaces-id> with whatever comes at the front of your regular Spaces URL; for example, the page that I go to is http://jamiethomson.mobile.spaces.live.com. When you get there you’ll see something like the following:

image

Its a very stripped down version of your space that is optimised for a mobile phone but that doesn’t mean that you can’t visit it from a regular computer. Once there you can delete comments to your heart’s content and you’ll find the page load times to be much MUCH quicker than the normal Spaces pages.

 

Hope that helps.

-Jamie

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, how-to, spaces
Written by Jamiet

October 20, 2008 at 9:45 am

Posted in Live Spaces

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I found this a while ago and it has saved me from quitting Live Spaces altogether. It’s still not exactly a great alternative though. Why oh why oh why do MS not want to do something about this problem? Why does the Stats page error 80% of the time? Why does my feed reader report an error most of the time when it tries to update all the Live Spaces blogs I subscribe to? I can only conclude that the Live Spaces team do not give a toss about their users. If MS can’t even be trusted to run a free blog site I’m not sure I’ll be happy building an application on SSDS…

    Chris

    October 20, 2008 at 10:19 am

  2. fair comment. I am shocked that this is still an issue (to be fixed soon tho I’m sure)

    Jamie

    October 20, 2008 at 10:30 am

  3. Nice tip. Though this area of comments in Spaces has to be improved like having an option to moderate before getting to Spaces. Also it will be a kind of alert getting a new comment on Spaces for one to reply back.So hopefully We will get many improvements in Wave3 for WL Spaces, but when ?

    Vasudev

    October 20, 2008 at 11:15 am

  4. vasudev,Agreed. A better way of getting rid of comments is important but prevention is the best form of medicine – we need a way of stopping them getting there in the first place.-Jamie

    Jamie

    October 20, 2008 at 11:25 am

  5. Nice find jamie. I got hit by spammer this weekend as well. Wish they’d fix commenting as well. But this is indeed a nice work around.

    Chris

    October 20, 2008 at 2:42 pm

  6. Thanks Jamie – saved me as I got hit by a spammer today as well!  Much better than the standard way of deleting comments – here is hoping that Spaces gets some Wave 3 love soon!!!!

    Bryan

    October 20, 2008 at 10:37 pm

  7. Thanks Jamie for this useful tip! It can be a pain going through all your comments so this is very useful to know!

    technogran

    October 21, 2008 at 5:51 am

  8. Thanks for the great tip:)  Now it will be a lot easier to get rid of the WOW! GOLD! whatever… messages and the ones that I can’t read which I am assuming are okay to remove.

    Dan

    October 22, 2008 at 1:25 am

  9. Should be removed ‘anonymous’ comment option.
    Should be added filter of spam and should be there an option where I can decide who leave me a comment – block offensive users.
    I asked these features to Spacecraft, like as many popular bloggers of Windows Live Spaces, but they ignore us.
     
    Slowly, best bloggers are leaving Windows Live Spaces and official bloggers of Microsoft are writing in other platform like as WordPress.
     
    This situation is sad. I’ve 3’500’000 pages view and I saw Spaces burning (1 December 2004), but now i’m going to WordPress, because I’m tired to be ignored by Team of Spaces: their strategies are different from what we want.
     
    I love Spaces, but they don’t love me.
     
    Bye Jamie,
     
    Mat
     
    p.s.
    I’m sorry for my bad english, but I’m italian.

    Mattia

    October 23, 2008 at 9:48 am

  10. Hey Jamie,
    My name is Lindsey and I work with the Windows Outreach Team at Microsoft!  Thanks for posting this helpful tip!  I wanted to let you know how great it is that you forwarded your tip to other Live Spaces users!  Thanks again and let me know if I can help you with anything!
    LindseyWindows Outreach Team

    LindseyM [Windows Team]

    October 23, 2008 at 11:38 pm

  11. Hi Jamie,
    Thanks for the fantastic tip! I just used your tip to delete I don’t know how many spam comments from WoW Gold…Your tip is a real time saver. Something that would have taken me an hour to do the old way now only take a minute to delete the spam messages!
    Thank You for sharing this wonderful tip…Now I am not going to let all the spamming even upset me because I know I can just delete it easily in a minute!
    Have a Great Day and Enjoy Life! 

    Jeff

    October 24, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  12. I’ve seen this solution before too, and am a bit surprised you have to go to the mobile version, just to be able to delete comments quickly. I hope the Live team is getting on the ball, because I haven’t seen too much activity on the Spaces side.

    Sammy

    October 26, 2008 at 2:25 am

  13. AWESOME suggestion!!!  I have been struck with the spammer repeatedly as well!!!  I keep an eye on my account from my Spaces Home link and find the comments posted on the right as they are added and the moment I see one I click the link from there….but some days there are dozens rather than just one.  I will be using this tip!!!

    Mindy

    October 26, 2008 at 11:13 am

  14. thank you so much for posting this solution, it saves me from quiting spaces.

    含力

    October 27, 2008 at 10:38 pm

  15. thank you , I too have been struck with spammers… driving me MAD… I’m going to trackback to your post if you dont mind :)thanks

    Kelly

    November 10, 2008 at 1:45 pm


Leave a Reply

