Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Live Services move into the Live Framework

with 3 comments

There’s loads of information coming out of this week’s Microsoft Professional Developers Conference in Los Angeles…Windows 7, Office Web Apps and Windows Azure seem to be the most newsworthy.

Of most interest to me though is news about the Live Framework, this is basically an API that allows developers to interact with the data that has previously only been accessible via Live Mesh and Windows Live Services. I’ve been lucky enough (thanks Alistair and Stuart) to have had access to the Live Framework for the past few months but have been gagged by a Non-Disclosure agreement – well I’ve just been told that the gag has been removed and I can now speak freely about this, something I’ve been dying to do.

Of principle interest to most of the people that read my blog is that all the data that Microsoft holds about us from its various Live Services is going to be made available via the Live Framework. So, the Live Framework now gives developers access to our contacts, calendar, photos, profile … stuff that previously has only been available at the various properties like http://contacts.live.com, http://calendar.live.com, http://<spaces-id>spaces.live.com/photos, http://<spaces-id>.spaces.live.com/recent respectively.

Let’s take a look at the Live Framework (or LiveFX as it is becoming known) overview diagram:

image

There’s a lot in there but I want to draw your attention to the box that I’ve outlined in red. You can see listed in there:

  • Profile
  • Groups (soon to be released – I’ll be talking about Live Groups much more soon as well)
  • Folders (hmm…interesting)
  • Contacts
  • Calendars
  • Photos
  • Geospatial
  • Search

Do some of those look familiar? You betcha! The information that Microsoft holds about you from their various Live Services will now be available to developers via LiveFX if (and I need to emphasize this strongly) you allow that data to be accessed! More on this later.

At the time of writing the only sections in that list that I know nothing about are Geospatial and Search but I am endeavouring to find out about them and when I’ve got anything to share I’ll be sure and let you know. Geospatial in particular intrigues me whilst Search might be a pointer to some of the ideas I postulated in Mesh’s hidden agenda.

 

That’s all for now; I’ve been dying to talk about this stuff for months and now its here I finally can. Expect more ramblings from me about LiveFX in the coming weeks but in the meantime, sit back and think about the wealth of apps that are going to get built that can leverage this data. The mind boggles quite frankly and I’ll be trying to un-boggle mine on this blog and my more developer-focused blog in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

-Jamie

In the clubhouse: clubhouse, story, mesh, windows live
Written by Jamiet

October 30, 2008 at 12:58 am

Posted in Live Mesh

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If that’s what Live Framework does… then what does Azure do then? I’m very confused.

    crestind

    October 30, 2008 at 3:49 pm

  2. crestind, I’m sure the muddied waers will clear soon :)

    Jamie

    October 30, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  3. Think of Azure as Windows and the Live Framework as the .NET Framework.

    Doug

    November 4, 2008 at 5:45 pm


Leave a Reply

