Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

New Windows Live Toolbar might just make you reconsider what you think of Toolbars

with 12 comments

Do you use toolbars? I generally don’t. Actually no, that’s not true; I didn’t, but I do now.

I’ve been using the new Windows Live Toolbar for about 6 weeks and so far so good, I’m still using it and for me that’s something of a toolbar record. The reason is the brand new toolbar buttons that allow me to see my What’s New feed and (importantly for me) my Calendar straight from within the Toolbar. In other words, without going to a website.

Let’s take a peek at what that looks like. I’m browsing http://upcoming.org looking for some future gigs in and around London and notice that The Mighty Boosh are playing at Wembley in a few weeks. Rather than open up a new browser or even a new application to see what I’m doing on that day I can just hit the Calendar toolbar button and have instant access:

image Looks like I’m free [My friends Jamie and Louise live miles away so I can get away with not travelling to see them on a Monday 🙂 ] so I hit the link for the tickets and I’m in. Very cool. My only complaint about the Calendar button is that I can’t see my agenda which I can at http://calendar.live.com – I’m told that that suggestion is being taken under advisement!!

 

That’s the Calendar. Here’s screenshots of the What’s New, Mail and Photos buttons:

image

image

 

image

 

What do you think? Can you see yourself using the new Windows Live toolbar?

-Jamie

 

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, story, calendar
Written by Jamiet

November 14, 2008 at 12:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe but I want to know abotu this calendar can I import my Outlook appts and schedule onto this thing?

    Kelly

    November 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm

  2. For this purpose I am not using exchange. Thank you for your help!

    Kelly

    November 14, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  3. Well there you go then. With the Outlook connector you can see all your calendars in Outlook. perfect.

    Jamie

    November 14, 2008 at 1:00 pm

  4. Yeah I "published" the calendar but I am not seeing it on my live calendar yet. Maybe it takes some time.

    Kelly

    November 14, 2008 at 1:06 pm

  5. Kelly,
    Did you install the Outlook Connector? I must reiterate "Publishing" the calendar to Office Online using the inbuilt calendar publishing feature will NOT make it appear on Live Calendar.
    -J
     

    Jamie

    November 14, 2008 at 1:11 pm

  6. Personally I don’t like browser toolbars, add-ons – yes please.  Stuff like Google’s Notebook Firefox add on are really useful, always there and less intrusive on your screen real estate when you’re not using them which in the case of toolbars, is probably 85% of the time.

    David

    November 14, 2008 at 1:43 pm

  7. I like the Share button the best.

    Chris

    November 14, 2008 at 2:33 pm

  8. the new drop downs are cool, though i don’t have that in my current version.  I’m not a fan of toolbars because they take up so much space.  If i could combine the live bar with the favorites bar and remove the search bar from the live toolbar (i don’t see why there needs to be two since one is already built into explorer).  I do also like that the toolbar shows you what profile you are logged in with.  My system tend s to "forget" cause i have 2 ids.  Good post though, :)

    Nik

    November 14, 2008 at 3:19 pm

  9. This will probably be the first toolbar I will ever use.

    crestind

    November 14, 2008 at 5:07 pm

  10. I just joined today and had lots of questions.  It think that you answered most of them.
    Will be marking it for future reference.   Thanks so much

    Johnnie

    November 14, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  11. Why not add them as Web Slices in IE8, instead of on a toolbar?

    Michael

    November 15, 2008 at 10:20 am

  12. I have the live toolbar installed but I don’t have the features that yours does.  I’m missing the share, what’s new & preview options.  Am I missing an update?  If I follow the link I get to the Windows Live installer update but it doesn’t let me install an update.  Do I need to uninstall first?  That would seem odd. 
     
    Thanks Jamie.

    Tim

    November 15, 2008 at 4:01 pm


Leave a Reply

