Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Windows Live Agents bites the dust

with one comment

Sad to say, Windows Live Agents (WLA) are going to be disappearing. From the Live Agents team blog today:

It is with a heavy heart that we have to announce WLA 5.1 is the last WLA release. We are retiring our product

and this final version is better suited to take you through the summer of 2009 when official support ends.

You, our developers and partners, have provided great feedback about our product that we have incorporated into product features, many of which are part of 5.1 release. We would like to thank you for all your feedback and participation.

We will no longer accept new hosting requests.

 

This is a real shame. I had high hopes that Windows Live Agents would gain mindshare in the developer community and to that end had the following to say about them in December 2007:

I was hoping that when Colloquis were purchased this would usher in a new era of automated interaction agents that simplify my online life. No longer would I have to browse to web pages in order to do the mundane things that I have to do as part of my daily routine. Unfortunately we haven’t reached that tipping point yet. I look forward to the day when I am able to view my bank balance, pay my bills, purchase things from Amazon, book flights, view live flight information, update personal details that people may have about me and do countless other things that I haven’t thought of yet all from within my Live Messenger window.

Sadly it seems not many people were on the same wavelength and today’s announcement has become rather inevitable due to the lack of interest from the developer community.

RIP Windows Live Agents. A real shame indeed.

-Jamie

Written by Jamiet

November 25, 2008 at 9:41 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Darn! And the Hotmail newsletter just praised my bots post!

    Michael

    November 26, 2008 at 5:59 pm


Leave a Reply

