Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

51

with 9 comments

51

Want to know what that number is? I won’t mince my words –that’s the number of incomprehensible polluting shitty spam comments that one scum-sucking toe-rag has posted on my Live Spaces blog in the last 60 minutes that I have just had to step-through and painstakingly delete one by one.

 

Fifty one!

 

 

 

As happy as I am to see Windows Live Wave 3 rolling out this week and as much as I offer my thanks and congratulations to the people that built it I can no longer hide my anger and resentment toward those same people –some of which I have met and dined with- that have habitually failed to address this rampant abuse of Live Spaces. Why is this not a priority? Why has there been no formal communication from Microsoft in regard to this? Why are they failing to halt the (apparent) flow of users away from Live Spaces because of this very problem? Its not like they don’t know its happening and its not as if people such as myself have failed to express the pain we have to go through nearly every day just for choosing to blog on Live Spaces.

 

Hence I speak to the Windows Live community and I ask, what can we do to make Microsoft sit up and listen? An online petition perhaps? Maybe a concerted coordinated blogging effort to try and highlight the depth of feeling? Fight fire with fire by spamming them until something is done about it? (I’m not seriously considering that last one).

At the very least I would ask you, if you have suffered at the hands of these spammers and agree with me, to post a comment to this blog entry voicing your desire for something to be done about it. Cajole your Spaces friends into replying too, let’s hope customer pressure can set the ball rolling to make a difference.

 

I’ll probably end up regretting posting this kneejerk tirade but hopefully some of you reading this will be feeling the same pain and forgive me. Frankly, I’m sick to death of blog spam and am fed up with waiting and waiting and waiting for some action from Microsoft.

-Jamie

 

UPDATE: To get an idea of what this looks like here’s a fresh batch of comments (59 this time) from a day later:

image

Written by Jamiet

December 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don’t blame you a bit friend. I have gone through the same exact thing. Hopefully MS will come up with a way to deal with this soon or they will lose people.

    Kelly

    December 2, 2008 at 3:53 pm

  2. Dev on Hack MSN Spaces posted a very similar rant only on the 1st of this month. It seems to be a problem with the more high profile bloggers like yourself. We need to start lobbying for Akismet or similar, like on WordPress.

    NP

    December 2, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  3. The amount of spam I get on blog posts annoy me too, I was hoping something would be done to prevent it in wave 3 guess not :|

    Liam

    December 2, 2008 at 5:33 pm

  4. I’m not a hogh profile blogger but suffer from constant spamming that has to be deleted with regularity. We all suffer from this problem and Microsoft has got to do something about it. The problem is serious and the solutions are simple. Just look at other services like Facebook, MySpace Twitter, etc. They easily control spam so why shouldn’t Microsoft? If they want use to use Live Space they darn well better fix this SPAM problem!

    Calvin

    December 2, 2008 at 5:56 pm

  5. Funny you mention MySpace, they had the same problem originally.  No excuses and yes something needs to be done but lets face it Spaces will be a target; for one it’s a semi-open system and even more importantly it’s Microsoft.  So you have a bevy of people who do nothing but exploit systems like this and then you futher motivate them by the service being owned by the hated Microsoft.

    John

    December 2, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  6. We hear you.  I hate comment spam too.  We all do.  I’ve talked to the Spaces team and this is what we’re doing with the Wave 3 release that is rolling out today to help mitigate the spam problem:
     
    1.  We’ve taken some measures on the backend that will reduce the amount of comment spam
    2.  We’re actively looking for and disabling spammer accounts
    3.  We’ve built a better recent comments page that will allow you to see up to 50 recent comments on one page and delete any spam comments from that page.
    4.  We’re continuing to invest in anti-spam and abuse measures that will roll out in future releases.
     
    Plus we’re doing some more secretive stuff that I can’t really declare publicly because it would tip off the spammers. 
     
     

    Marcus

    December 2, 2008 at 9:03 pm

  7. Yeah, I’ve seen a lot of this too. I’m not at all inclined to believe Marcus, below, either. I’ve tried reporting spammers, in the past and recently. Nothing is ever done, and after taking the time to fill out the arduous reporting form I get a reply from a generic support account from MS india, asking me in broken english to tell them exactly what I put in the original report and ignoring my replies.MS needs to stop making excuses and lying to us to make us feel like they’re doing something, and invest these resource in actually doing something about the problem.

    Jordan

    December 3, 2008 at 1:20 am


Leave a Reply

