Jamie Thomson

Thoughts, about stuff

Positive movement on Windows Live URLs

with 8 comments

In March of this year I published a blog What’s with Windows Live URLs? where I bemoaned the non-descript URLs used by many Windows Live Services:

My Skydrive domain is:

What on earth is that meant to be? What’s wrong with http://jamiethomson.skydrive.live.com?

I have a blog category on my Live Space called "Zune". Given that http://jamiethomson.spaces.live.com/blog takes you to all of my blog entries would it not make sense for the URL of that category to be http://jamiethomson.spaces.live.com/blog/category/zune or something similar? Of course it would, instead its this:

WTF!!! Am I supposed to be able to remember that? Does it even tell me what content actually resides at that URL? The answer to both of those questions is a resounding "No". This is really bad, as are these:

 

Happily there are signs within today’s Windows Live Wave 3 release that this is changing; I particularly like the URL’s employed by the Profile page where I view my invitations:

windows live invitations

which can be found at:

http://profile.live.com/messages/invitations.aspx 

In itself that’s very self-explanatory but what I especially like about this page is that if I want to view my invites for network, spaces, events and groups only then I don’t have to visit a new page – I just have to add a parameter to the URL like this:

Cool. That’s very clean, very descriptive. When you reach those destinations you’ll find that your unique CID identifier appears at the front of the URL but I don’t mind that too much – what I DO like is that those URLs will work for anyone that has a Windows Live ID. Superb. (I think maybe a copy of RESTful Web Services has been passed around the Windows Live offices)

RESTful Web Services book

 

This same technique is employed for comments which can be seen at:

I do appreciate those seemingly insignificant nuances where some thought has been applied and clearly that is the case here; and even though CID identifiers are still sprinkled rather liberally I have to say … full marks. Now, if only they could so something about Spaces blog entry URLs(!!!)

-Jamie

Windows Live Tags: clubhouse, story, wave 3, URLs, feedback, spaces, profile

Written by Jamiet

December 3, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It seems much cleaner now. Spam has been brought under control too :DBut I still think the profile should be jamiethomson.profile.live.com as at the moment is is some random CID url and you can give it away to friends or family. What say?

    Dev

    December 3, 2008 at 10:57 pm

  2. Dev, yes I agree. I would like to know why they use the CIDs – possibly for reasons of privacy. Still, the links above that don’t have either the CID or anything else will work for you and anyone else that has a LiveID and I think THAT is pretty cool.-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 3, 2008 at 11:05 pm

  3. Well, I think CIDs can be used for several reasons. Like you said, privacy. But it’s also an automatic way to make sure the links created are always unique, and people still can use their name for their space. Like an databse id. But it’s also a protection against url spammers. It’s not only the spam on the site itself that could harm, but what if a person took acompanyname.spaces.live.com? or what if they took secure-banking.spaces.live.com? Things like that make a noob think it’s an real address from a company, but in stead they are on a blog, with possibly suspisous links. Also internet marketiers love such thing. Create tons of spaces with their preferred keyword, and use that to become good in google. (incomming links from similar sources)

    Peter

    December 4, 2008 at 6:45 am

  4. What about for custom domains? How would jordan at jordan mills dot com fit in? I think I’m stuck with a CID any way.

    Jordan

    December 4, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  5. Jordan,Not sure what you mean? Sorry. I don’t see why the domain of your email address has any relevance here.-Jamie

    Jamie

    December 4, 2008 at 3:29 pm

  6. You’re so right about the ‘cid’ thing. A mate of mine asked me for my blog URL. I had to open me blog, grab the URL off the top of the webpage; copy it, then go back into Hotmail and paste it in. Would love things to be made a bit simpler:-)Nice blog, Jamie.

    Jen

    January 13, 2009 at 9:19 pm

  7. ola para todos

    anderson

    April 23, 2009 at 11:22 pm

  8. I need to know more about this.

    jackson e

    May 18, 2010 at 12:59 am


Leave a Reply

